Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Atonement (Rated R)

Starring:  Kiera Knightley, James McAvoy, Brenda Blethyn

Directed by:  Joe Wright

Synopsis:  Fledgling writer Briony Tallis, as a 13-year-old, irrevocably changes the course of several lives when she accuses her older sister’s lover of a crime he did not commit.  Based on the British romance novel by Ian McEwan.

My Thoughts:  The story-line seems very interesting.  It is set in the United Kingdom during the World War II era.  The whole movie can be boiled down to how one mistake (or mistaken identity) can ruin many lives.  It is first and foremost a romance.  The connection between James McAvoy and Kiera Knightley is believable, but throughout the movie it feels like something is missing.  Ultimately I found it to be a sad and depressing movie.  Some may defend it and say that in a way it mirrors real life, but my reply to that is simply; when I watch a movie I want to be entertained, to have 1-2 hours away from my problems (read:  real life).  Overall, I found it both disheartening and boring.  I would not recommend it.

1 out of 5 Popcorn Buckets

Interested in buying this movie?  Get This Movie Now!

2 Comments

  1. I had to read the book this movie was based on in high school, and it was heartbreaking. I enjoy sad books more than sad movies, but neither is really great if you’re looking for entertainment.

    • This made me laugh. I agree though, sad books are easy to stomach than a sad movie. I think the problem here might’ve been the concept as a whole.

Leave a Reply

