Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Top Ten Tuesday Rewind: Top 10 Characters I’d NEVER Want To Trade Places With

This will be my first blogging challenge and as Barney Stinson would say, “Challenge accepted!”  For my first challenge I decided to go with a Top Ten Tuesday Challenge hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Their challenge for February 25 is a Top Ten Tuesday Rewind, so you pick from previous topics.  That works for me since I haven’t done any of them.  So, as you can see from the title I decided to go with. . .

The Top 10 Characters I’d NEVER Want To Trade Places With

challenge1

1.  Winston Smith from 1984 – His life was intense.  Plus I’m a bit of a wimp with a low threshold for pain, so the whole torture thing definitely would’ve killed me.  And don’t even get me started on the freaking rats.

2.  Percy Weasley from The Harry Potter Series – He seemed like a stick in the mud to begin with and then he basically turned his back on his own family, to get ahead at work!  What a putz.  Granted he came around in the end, but dude, family first.

3.  Gale Hawthorne in Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins – You come up with a brilliant battle plan to win the war.  You win the war!  You can finally be with the girl you love, right?  Wrong.  She pretty much blames you for her sister’s death (whoops).

4.  Frank C. Dobbs in The Treasure of the Sierra Madre by B. Traven – You’re down on your luck, but then miracle of miracles you find gold!  Of course, you become distrustful of your companions and get greedy.  You shoot one of said companions, but apparently you’re not a great shot.  You take off with the gold and then run into those darn evil bandits.  They kill you and scatter that gold you ran off with.  Hindsight is without a doubt 20/20 here.

5.  Sookie Stackhouse in The Southern Vampire Mysteries by Charlaine Harris – As cool as the idea of supernatural creatures are, I couldn’t deal with it on Sookie’s level.  The girl basically never had a break.  She simply jumped from disaster to disaster.

6.  Michael Glass in Glass Houses by Rachel Caine – His “life” really wasn’t much of a life.  Seriously though, I can’t even imagine the existence he had to live through.  It’s extremely restrictive, inconvenient and probably pretty boring.

7.  The Wicked Witch of the East in The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum –  Imagine having to tell the story of how you died in the Afterlife.  Some girl with pigtails dropped a house on me.  I died and then the brat stole my shoes!  Kind of embarrassing as far as a villain death goes.

8.  Bertha Rochester in Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte – She went completely bonkers and then her husband locked her in attic.  Then she managed to set the freaking mansion on fire.  I don’t want to be that brand of crazy.

9.  Bellatrix Lestrange in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling – She really got a raw deal at the end.  Was it really her fault that Harry, Hermione and Ron managed to break into a Gringotts vault?  Although I guess she probably got what she wanted since she had that weird/creepy love for You-Know-Who, they died the same day (weirdly, a poetic ending for them).

10.  Hester Prynne in The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne – Honestly, I am far too self-conscience to continue living in a town where people are constantly judging me and I have to walk around with a big, scarlet A on my chest.  Adding insult to injury, I’d have to see the dude that knocked me and caused all of this to snow ball in the first place (without any consequences for himself).

Honorable Mention:  Edmund Pevensie in The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis – Little jerk tried to sell his family out to the evil White Witch for sweets!

6 Comments

  1. Love this list, made me laugh so hard. Glad youre doing TTT, its fun!

    • Thank you! I had a lot of fun writing it. I actually got the idea from your list last week, so thank you for that.

  2. Great pick. Ha, bloody Percy Weasley. I definitely agree that I would never want to be him, he was a total douche! Nice list 🙂 My TTT.

    • Thank you! You’re list was awesome and definitely true for me.

  3. You have made some really good points there. I checked on the web to learn more about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this web site.

    • Thanks, I think. I’m glad you liked my list.

Leave a Reply

