Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Just Go With It (Rated PG-13)

Starring:  Adam Sandler, Jennifer Aniston and Brooklyn Decker

Directed by:  Dennis Dugan

Synopsis:  Danny Maccabee (Adam Sandler) meets the girl of his dreams (Brooklyn Decker) but has to enlist his loyal assistant Katherine (Jennifer Aniston) to pretend to be his soon-to-be-ex-wife in order to cover up a careless lie.  When more lies backfire, Katherine’s kids become involved, and everyone heads off to Hawaii for a ridiculous, out-of-control weekend that tests the limits of how far we’ll go for love.

My Thoughts:  When you pass by a car accident are you guilty of rubbernecking (checking out the damage)?  I’m not proud of it, but rubbernecking has become a normal part of driving for me.  That’s kind of how I felt about this movie.  It was like a car accident that I just couldn’t tear my eyes away from.  The plot isn’t a terrible concept, but also nowhere near plausible.  Although now that I think about it, Adam Sandler is rarely in a movie with a plausible story line (Little Nicky, Happy Gilmore, The Waterboy, etc.).  I also can’t seem to comprehend the logic of piling lies on top of more lies in order to get a relationship to work.  Eventually you’ll slip up, right?  That may just be naivety on my part, but it seemed like a stupid solution to me.  The acting is actually pretty good and there are plenty of star appearances (Nicole Kidman, Nick Swardson, Dave Matthews, Rachel Dratch, Kevin Nealon, etc.) to keep you entertained.  I will admit that I found Katherine’s (Aniston) kids hilariously; they were really the reason I continued watching.  If you’re an Adam Sandler fan then you’ll probably enjoy this movie.  However, I can’t actually recommend it because I would feel horribly guilty if I knowingly told someone to buy/watch Just Go With It.

1.5 out of 5 Popcorn Buckets  (I’m stuck between hating this movie and just not liking it)

Interested in buying this movie?  Get This Movie Now!

Leave a Reply

