Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Out of Nowhere

by Rebecca Phillips

Overview (from B&N.com):  At eleven years old, Riley Tate witnessed the sudden death of her father.  Now, at sixteen, she still can’t bring herself to step on “the spot” – the section of kitchen floor on which her father landed after collapsing from a brain aneurysm.  For Riley, a borderline hypochondriac with anxiety issues, moving on seems impossible, taking risks is out of the question, and even the simplest things feel loaded with danger.  When she meets Cole Boyer in an ER waiting room, Riley realizes immediately that he’s far from the safe, predictable boy she usually goes for.  A fearless daredevil with mysterious scars and a thirst for all things dangerous, Cole is like an accident waiting to happen.  Still, despite their differences, they forge an unlikely friendship that eventually blossoms into something more.  Dating someone who’s so casual about death has its challenges, but as Riley soon learns, not everyone can be – or needs to be – saved.

I received a copy of this book from the author on GoodReads in exchange for an honest review.  I’m about to make a very obvious observation, so stick with me.  Tragedy changes us.  I know, Captain Obvious.  How it changes an individual is the interesting and sometimes scary part.  Rebecca Phillips captures this change and the road we sometimes take to get there in Out of Nowhere.  At first I couldn’t help thinking this novel (212 pages on the Nook) reminded me of The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen.  Then I realized the only thing they really have in common is a girl’s father died and she has trouble dealing with it.  During certain parts of Out of Nowhere I was really irritated with the main character, Riley, and couldn’t for the life of me figure out why.  It hit me like a 2×4 that her response to dealing with difficult things reminded me of myself, not a good thing.  I’m definitely an emotional moron.  Other than the personal introspection that I did my best to ignore, I thought Riley’s journey to accepting her father’s death and moving through life’s challenges was believable.  Out of Nowhere was well written and an interesting story with a great, healing message that more people should be open to hearing.  Overall I liked the book, but it just didn’t blow me away.  As long as you don’t mind wiping away a few tears while you’re reading, I’d recommend Out of Nowhere to you.

3 out of 5 Bookmarks

Interested in buying this book?  Get This Book Now!

Leave a Reply

