Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

What to Expect When You’re Expecting (Rated PG-13)

Starring:  Cameron Diaz, Jennifer Lopez, Elizabeth Banks, Chace Crawford, Brooklyn Decker, Anna Kendrick, Matthew Morrison, Dennis Quaid, Chris Rock, Rodrigo Santoro, Ben Falcone, and Joe Manganiello

Directed by:  Kirk Jones

Synopsis:  Inspired by the perennial bestseller, What to Expect When You’re Expecting is a hilarious and heartfelt comedy about five couples whose intertwined lives are turned upside down by the challenges of impending parenthood.

My Thoughts:  I’m curious if being pregnant is one of those experiences that differs depending on your mindset.  If you have a negative view, you hate the experience and a positive view equates to a good experience.  I guess in the end it doesn’t matter because they say most women seem to forget all of the negative parts of pregnancy when they’re ready for another one.  What to Expect When You’re Expecting is a diverse take on the entire world of pregnancy.  Whether it’s the serious, unexpected pregnancy or the meticulously planned pregnancy, they all come with their challenges.  I enjoyed the blend of humor and seriousness.  My least favorite couple was definitely Holly and Alex (Jennifer Lopez & Rodrigo Santoro).  Something about Holly’s desperation for a baby, any baby, made me less sympathetic to their plight.  I loved Rosie and Marco (Anna Kendrick & Chace Crawford).  They were adorable and their banter made you fall in love with them even more.  However, Wendy (Elizabeth Banks) was undoubtedly my favorite character.  Her portrayal of a pregnancy is what I would think is closest to the truth for most women.  Her comedic timing was perfect and the lines were brilliant.  It’s not perfect and it’s not even the funniest movie I’ve ever seen, but it is worth your time.  If you’re in the mood to laugh, I would highly recommend What to Expect When You’re Expecting.

4.5 out of 5 Popcorn Buckets  (I’m torn.  Do I love it or just really like it?  I’m really not sure.)

Interested in buying this movie?  Get This Movie Now!

Leave a Reply

