Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

That Touch of Ink

by Diane Vallere

Overview (from NetGalley.com):  When interior decorator Madison Night receives a five thousand dollar bill in the mail, she knows it’s a message from her past.  But when she discovers a corpse while trying to learn of the bill’s value, Madison suspects her former lover wants more than a reconciliation.  His actions belie his intentions, and even a gallon of daisy yellow paint can’t hide the writing on the wall.  Madison follows a circuit of rare dollars and common sense and discovers a counterfeit operation, a jealous lover, and the true value of her independence.

My Thoughts:

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  Doris Day?  Rock Hudson?  Did I get into a time machine without realizing it and set back in the late 1950s/early1960s?  Nah, it’s not the real Doris and Rock; just a clever version of them (Madison and her dog Rocky).  That Touch of Ink is the second book in the Mad for Mod series.  I didn’t read the first book, Pillowstalk, but I never felt like I was lost.  The author gave enough background from the first book to catch a new reader up.  It still irks me to start a series from anything other than the first book though.  That Touch of Ink was well-written, with a steady pace that kept me interested and entertained.  The main character, Madison, tended to grate on my last nerve.  Her proclamations of being an independent woman were seemingly endless.  She also didn’t seem to care how she was treating others around her (namely the men in her life) and she was so stuck in the past, while claiming she wasn’t, that I wished I could reach into the book and slap her.  The author’s descriptions of all of Madison’s outfits were seriously detailed (old school fashionista, maybe?).

If you’re a fan of Doris Day (I admit it; I had to google her) and that era, this book is right up your alley.  Even if Doris Day isn’t your cup of tea or you don’t know who she is, That Touch of Ink is worthy of a recommendation for those that like a good who-dun-it.  I know it might not be completely obvious this time, but I really did like this book.  In fact, I’m planning to go back and read Pillowstalk (to give the full series a fair chance).  Therefore, I would recommend That Touch of Ink.

Side note:  The book titles are a clever play on Doris Day movie titles.  For clarification purposes, That Touch of Mink stars Doris Day and Cary Grant.

3 out of 5 Bookmarks (It might’ve been higher, if I’d read Pillowstalk first)

Interested in buying this book?  Get This Book Now!

that_touch_of_ink

2 Comments

  1. I have been browsing online more than 2 hours today, yet
    I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth
    enough for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be a lot more useful
    than ever before.

    • I’m glad you enjoyed visiting Reviews in a Pinch and thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

