Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Playing Games

by Jessica Clare

Overview (from B&N.com):  Katy Short doesn’t want to be on The World Races.  She’s not a social butterfly like her brother (and partner) Brodie.  In fact, she’s just as happy to end up in last place as in first.  But when her brother makes a selfish move that pairs her up with silent and surly rock star Liam Brogan, everything in the race changes.

Now Katy’s fighting to stay out of the Loser Lodge, just so she won’t have to suffer through all that alone time with Mr. Tall, Dark and Arrogant.  Except Liam?  Kinda hot.  He’s sexy, pierced…and not nearly as surly as she thought.  There’s one good thing about a game with partners — lots of one-on-one time…

My Thoughts:  I’ve never been much of a reality tv show fan, including the competition shows.  Are you a fan of The Amazing Race?  I’m not, but that was the best comparison I could come up with for the game in the book.  I’m just assuming they’re basically the same.

Playing Games is the second book (433 pages on the Nook) in the Games series.  The plot is logically constructed and the characters are fantastic.  They’re normal and flawed (my favorite kind).  Katy actually started to piss me off with how gullible and forgiving she was when it came to her brother Brodie.  It reminded me of that saying, “Fool me once, shame on you.  Fool me twice, shame on me.”  In this case, Katy’s an idiot and didn’t even learn after the second time.  Liam’s character was adorable and makes you wish actual celebrities were so down to earth.  Then there’s Katy’s brother, Brodie, our story’s villain.  And he was without a doubt the antagonist in this story.  He’s constantly trying and mostly succeeding at taking advantage of Katy and getting under Liam’s skin.  Total d-bag.  Abby and Dean (from Wicked Games) made an appearance in Playing Games.  They were still awesome, but not the focus of this story.  Therefore, their awesomeness really didn’t compare with Wicked Games Abby and Dean.

I think the author has an interesting concept going here and the stories are original, to me at least.  I’m not sure if they’ve ever done the book challenges on the actual reality show.  There is some explicit sexual content present in this series, so I’ll have to stick with ages 16+ here.  I would recommend Playing Games, as long as you’re over the age of 16.

5 out of 5 Bookmarks = I absolutely loved this book and I’ve read it multiple times!

Interested in buying this book?  Get This Book Now!

playing_games

Leave a Reply

