Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Unsettled

by Ali Mullen

Overview (from B&N.com):  Lizzie O’Malley, a twenty-three year old free-spirited young woman, is on the run to find her purpose in life. In the summer of 2000, she returns home to Boston, Massachusetts to begin a life that she can be proud of. On her first night out on the town with a friend, tragedy strikes and she finds herself the cause of emotional wreckage. Instead of dealing, she concentrates on the man she met that first night.

Teagan Gallagher, a twenty-two year old college student from Ireland, spends the summer of 2000 in Boston, Massachusetts, working towards his degree and partying his way through the city. One night he finds a beautiful American girl that he is desperate to spend the summer with.

Together, Teagan and Lizzie learn the ins and outs of an unconventional relationship. It isn’t until their relationship is in so deep that it becomes impossible for one or the other to run away.

Full Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book from the author on Goodreads in exchange for an honest review.

My Thoughts:  Having no direction in life, confusion over what to do with yourself and no one understanding it is something that quite a few people can relate to.  It’s not exactly something you want to admit being able to understand though.  So the fact that the author tackles this subject in Unsettled made me want to read it.

Frankly a lot of this book was completely foreign to me. I couldn’t relate to the partying or that entire lifestyle, but I still found myself intrigued by Unsettled. I was so sucked in by both the story line and the writing. Neither blew my mind, but something about them just made me anxious to continue reading.

The little nuances between characters kept me guessing and the chemistry was intense. I didn’t really like the full idea behind the interaction between Lizzy and Teagan, but I understood the point of it. The characters were flawed, which I love. Going through a self-discovery period is hard and I think the author did a great job of portraying exactly that with Lizzy’s character.

I did not like the direction the story went or how things were resolved, but that is wholly a personal opinion.  I genuinely didn’t understand the character thought processes for some of the decisions throughout Unsettled and even came to hate Teagan’s character altogether.  I cannot and will not divulge why because I would be guilty of including spoilers.  Suffice it to say that any dislike of the characters or book came from a purely personal point of view.

There were some editing errors, but overall they could be easily overlooked. There were some semi-explicit scenes, so I would say ages 16+. Overall it was an enjoyable book and I like it.  However, if you have a very firm religious stance or issues reading about skewed morality, then this book is definitely not something you would enjoy.  I would recommend Unsettled, especially if you like reading about an unconventional relationship.

3 out of 5 Bookmarks = I liked it, but it also irked me so much that I just couldn’t rate it any higher.

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon or Barnes & Noble

unsettled

Leave a Reply

