Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Gateway Books/Authors in My Reading Journey

toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday challenge, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is the Top 10 Gateway Books or Authors in My Reading Journey.  So we’re supposed to be thinking about the books and authors that got us into reading, brought us back to reading after an extended hiatus or introduced us to a new genre.  This is an awesome idea for a Top Ten Tuesday because I imagine it’ll be difficult to stick to just 10 books/authors.  I also think the comparison between gateway drugs and gateway books/authors is hilarious.  Books are definitely my drug; I have a problem.  The links will take you to Amazon to feed your addiction.  Enjoy this week’s top 10 list!

Top 10 Gateway Books/Authors in My Reading Journey

challenge5

1.  My Horizontal Life by Chelsea Handler:  This book introduced me to autobiographies, but specifically those written by celebrities.  I got slightly addicted after this one and as it turns out My Horizontal Life ended up being my least favorite both by Chelsea Handler and by other celebrities.

2.  The Boxcar Children by Gertrude Chandler Warner:  This entire series was my elementary school addiction.  I was constantly going to the school’s library to check out the next two books in the series.  I definitely owe a lot of my love of reading to this series and Gertrude Chandler Warner.

3.  The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins:  This was a series that re-introduced me to reading.  I lost some momentum and kind of let reading go by the wayside in college.  Then Suzanne Collins used Katniss Everdeen to suck me into Panem and back into the wonderful world of reading.

4.  Hollowland by Amanda Hocking:  This book is responsible for throwing me into the zombie genre.  I got sucked in and haven’t been able to get back out.  I’m mildly obsessed with reading zombie books now.  I download them like a little fiend.  You can read my review of this first book in The Hollows series.

5.  The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen:  This was my introduction to Sarah Dessen and I am now a fan.  My goal is to now read all of her books.  Her writing is absolutely beautiful without being over the top and I can’t seem to get enough of it.  You can read my review of this particular book.

6.  The Temperance Brennan series by Kathy Reichs:  This series was really my first time reading a true thriller/mystery.  Kathy Reichs hooked me.  Although she obviously hooked some tv big wigs too, since they based the tv show Bones off of this series.  I’m ashamed to admit that I haven’t kept up with the new releases and what’s going on with Tempe.  Deja Dead is the first book.

7.  Samanthe Beck:  Her book, Private Practice, was basically my introduction into the romance genre.  It was probably a really great place to start with an intimidating genre.  It’s still not my favorite genre to read, but I’m glad that Samanthe Beck made my first romance reading experience an enjoyable one.  You can read my review of Private Practice.

8.  Dr. Suess:  Like most kids, I loved a good Dr. Suess rhyme.  They were always entertaining and I loved that they rhymed.  I suck at poetry (rhyming or not), so he was like a unicorn to me.

9.  Shel Silverstein:  This man was genius personified in my mind as a kid, still kind of is.  Where the Sidewalk Ends, A Light in the Attic and Falling Up were my favorites.  I read them repeatedly, almost like if I didn’t read them a certain number of times the words would disappear from the pages.

10.  Louis Sachar:  I was obsessed with the Wayside School books.  My second grade teacher read us one of these and from that moment on I was hooked.  They still occupy prime real estate on my book shelf.  For the record, Wayside School Gets a Little Stranger was my favorite.

You may have noticed that the Harry Potter series is missing.  That was intentional.  They are probably the epitome of gateway books, but I didn’t want to include them.  Honestly I could probably find a way to include them in almost every list I’ve made, but I will control myself and refrain from doing this.

1 Comment

  1. Deja Dead was on my TTT list too! And Boxcar Kids, I’d almost forgotten about them but I definitely loved them as a kid. Great list 🙂

Leave a Reply

