Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Most Unique Books I’ve Read

toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday challenge, hosted (as always) by The Broke and the Bookish, is the Top 10 Most Unique Books I’ve Read.  Without further ado, let’s see what I can come up with for the unique category of books.

Top 10 Most Unique Books I’ve Read

1.  Galapagos by Kurt Vonnegut:  This book is so freaking weird that I had to include it on this list.  I’m not sure what other lists it would fit on, but it’s perfect for this one.

galapagos

2.  A Million Little Pieces by James Frey:  I’ve heard this book compared to Junky by William S. Burroughs, but it stands on its own two feet.  The line between real and exaggerated in this loosely based memoir is so blurry one might assume they need corrective lens (terrible joke, I know).

A_Million_Little_Pieces

3.  The Book Thief by Markus Zusak:  I thought this was unique because of the blend of the WWII time period and the fact that it’s written from the point of view of Death.  It’s such an intriguing story without much negative commentary and condemnation for Nazi actions, like most books that take place in this time.

book_thief

4.  Zombie Thanksgiving by Rusty Fischer:  This short story was just awesome.  It left off on a cliffhanger and had a different take on a zombie story.  It’s free, so take an hour and read it to see what I mean.

zombie-thanksgiving

5.  Bridesmaid Lotto by Rachel Astor:  This entire trilogy was worth publishing simply for the McMaster the Disaster Diaries.  They’re hilarious books and don’t go the typical romantic comedy chick lit direction.

bridesmaid_lotto

6.  Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare:  To me, this series is unique because I still haven’t read The Mortal Instruments series.  I really like Clare’s creation of a world that runs in conjunction with ours, but mainly in the shadows.

clockwork-angel

7.  Zombie Island by Samantha Hoffman:  This was unique because it is told from a first person point of view.  Plus the heroine is nowhere near perfect or overly tough.  It’s so easy to relate to her and how she responds to the end of the world that I couldn’t keep myself from adding it to my unique list.

zombie_island1

8.  The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold:  This story was disturbing, but unique because of that.  When the very first paragraph of a book says something about rape and murder, you know it won’t be the happiest book.  Wonderfully written and I was a big fan of the end.

the-lovely-bones

9.  Deception Point by Dan Brown:  This totally appealed to my geeky side.  There were hammerhead sharks and it took place in Antarctica.  My favorite Dan Brown book.

Deception-Point

10.  Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom:  This book was amazing, heartfelt and thought provoking.  Definitely worth reading if you haven’t already read it.

Tuesdays_with_Morrie

There you have it.  Our list of unique books.  Hopefully there’s something here that you’ll want to check out and expand that reading sphere of yours.  Happy reading!

8 Comments

  1. I’ve read a few of these and have a few more on my wishlist. Let me guess, you’re a sucker for zombies? I tend to be a sucker for vampires (ha ha, get it? Gosh I’m lame), so it’s okay 🙂

    • I didn’t used to be, but over the last year or so I’ve been addicted to zombie books. I used to be pretty into the vampire stuff (and I thought your pun was hilarious, but I have kind of a dorky sense of humor).

      • I enjoyed World War Z by Max Brooks and Cell by Stephen King, but that’s about as close to enjoying zombies as I can get. It just isn’t my thing. I was off my vampire kick for the longest time, but now I’m reading Dark Lover by J.R. Ward, and I’m totally on my kick again. Glad you could appreciate my corny humor, haha!

      • Haha. I actually haven’t read either of the books you mentioned. Since they’re zombie books though I’ll have to add them to me to-read asap list. I may even check out Dark Lover. Especially since it got you back on a vampire kick. Thank you for the suggestions! 😀

  2. I put The Book Thief on my list as well. I read Deception Point, but I think it is my least favorite Dan Brown book. Here’s mine.

    • Yeah, there are a lot of people that didn’t really enjoy DP and Digital Fortress. I can’t help it though, the marine science was so geeky and awesome in my mind! 🙂 I’m glad someone else agrees that The Book Thief is a unique read.

  3. I have been wanting to read Deception Piont for awhile, I guess I didn’t realize it was in Antarctica and had sharks! Exciting!

    • Yeah, I loved it. Marine science dork for sure. Just to clarify, the sharks aren’t actually in Antarctica. That would be ridiculous. 😉

Leave a Reply

