Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

The 13th Prophet

by T. Lucas Earle

Overview (from Goodreads.com):  Mulligan Burke, an over-the-hill P.I. who has forsaken the evils of Personality implants, is brought back from Alaska to investigate the murder of one of the Prophets. The Prophets inhabit the highest position of the social hierarchy – they dictate fashion trends. Fashion, in this instance, encompasses much more than clothing. And, as Burke discovers, being fashionable is something to die – or kill – for.

In this entertaining short story, T. Lucas blends classic noir and dystopian sci-fi, exposing the strange underbelly where conformity, fashion, and religion collide.

Full Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

My Thoughts:  I love sci-fi.  This shouldn’t be too surprising if you’ve read some of the other posts I’ve written.  I wasn’t sure what to think of The 13th Prophet, but it was so short (27 pages as a PDF) I figured it would be a quick read, whether it was good or bad.

My recurring thoughts while reading about people getting imprinted with personalities was the sci-fi genre in general.  It reminded me of the SyFy miniseries, Alice (changing emotions by drinking “tea”) – read my review here.  I also thought of an episode of Doctor Who (Gridlock episode 4, season 3)and the show Dollhouse (imprinting the “dolls” with whatever persona they needed).  So this isn’t the most original idea in this particular genre, but what the author did with it was creative.

The world created by T. Lucas Earle in The 13th Prophet was interesting.  I wish it was longer so that I had the time to fully immerse myself in it and learn more.  Some parts took me longer to understand exactly what was going on simply because it’s not fully explained.  I’m sure there’s still a lot about this world that I didn’t grasp and I’d love to read more about it.  I truly hope a second short story comes out or a full length novel.  Whether it’s a prequel to The 13th Prophet, a continuation or a more in-depth story including this short story, I wouldn’t hesitate to buy and read it.

The characters were fine, but again the story was just so short that there really wasn’t time to flesh them out and get to know them.  I would love to know more about the main character, Mulligan Burke.  I’m pretty sure he had “extra” abilities beyond a normal person, but I can’t be sure.  Ahh!  Darn you T. Lucas Earle for piquing my curiosity and leaving me wanting more from The 13th Prophet!

There was also an interesting political subtext that was nothing less than intriguing.  I never felt like the author was preaching their beliefs, religious or political, at me.  I was just an interesting take on an extreme view of the way the world works today.

Obviously, I would recommend The 13th Prophet.  It was well-written and it won’t take you more than an hour to read.

4 out of 5 Bookmarks = I would rate it higher, but I’m hoping more is written within this world.

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon

13th-prophet

 

6 Comments

  1. Hi there. I was considering adding a website link back to your blog since both of our sites are primarily based around the same subject. Would you prefer I link to you using your website address: %BLOGURL% or blog title: %BLOGTITLE%. Please make sure to let me know at your earliest convenience. Many thanks

    • I don’t think our blogs are based around the same subject, but if you really want to link your blog to mine the blog title is fine. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this superb blog!
    I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking
    and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to new updates and will talk about this site with my Facebook group.

    Talk soon!

    • Thank you so much! I’m glad you enjoyed visiting Reviews in a Pinch!!! 🙂

  3. I believe what you published was very logical. But, what
    about this? what if you were to create a awesome title?
    I mean, I don’t want to tell you how to run your website, but suppose you added something
    to maybe grab people’s attention? I mean The 13th Prophet | Reviews In A Pinch is
    a little plain. You should glance at Yahoo’s front page and note
    how they create post headlines to get people to open the links.
    You might add a video or a pic or two to get people excited about what you’ve got to say.
    Just my opinion, it might bring your posts a little livelier.

  4. My spouse and I stumbled over here different web page and thought I may as well check things out.

    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking into
    your web page again.

Leave a Reply

