Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Half Bad

by Sally Green

Overview (from B&N.com):  In modern-day England, witches live alongside humans: White witches, who are good; Black witches, who are evil; and sixteen-year-old Nathan, who is both. Nathan’s father is the world’s most powerful and cruel Black witch, and his mother is dead. He is hunted from all sides.

Trapped in a cage, beaten and handcuffed, Nathan must escape before his seventeenth birthday, at which point he will receive three gifts from his father and come into his own as a witch—or else he will die. But how can Nathan find his father when his every action is tracked, when there is no one safe to trust—not even family, not even the girl he loves?

My Thoughts:  Witches are always interesting to read about, in my opinion.  I really like the whole idea behind a magical world co-existing (even if in secret) with our normal world.  Obviously, I love Harry Potter (like the majority of the world’s population), so I’ve been excited about this book/whole trilogy for months now.

The writing.  I liked the author’s style of writing, but the actual prose wasn’t overly impressive.  To clarify, it wasn’t bad.  It was just unimpressive.  This book was specifically compared to The Hunger Games and the comparison to the Harry Potter series is an easy one.  I don’t think Half Bad was really at the same level of writing for those particular comparisons.

The character of Nathan was a bit confusing.  At first I liked him, then I didn’t.  It went back and forth like that for a while before I decided to like him at the end of Half Bad.  Who knows where my head space will be during the second book.  The author did a very good job of biasing the reader against the characters that you’re not “supposed” to like.

Frankly, my expectations were high for Half Bad.  They may have even been a bit unrealistic.  Therefore, I was disappointed.  Other reviewers showered Half Bad with so much praise that it influenced my opinion before even reading the book.  Alas, that is the danger with reading book reviews on major sites though.  Plus you have no idea where your reading taste lies in relation to the reviewer’s taste.

When it comes down to it, I did end up liking Half Bad.  I just think it had the potential to be much better.  It did suffer from a slow start, but I really loved approximately the last half of Half Bad.  The tone picked up and there was just much more action and it was exhilarating (as far as reading goes).  Because of that, I would recommend Half Bad mainly to any young adult book lovers out there.

3.5 out of 5 Bookmarks = I liked it and will be reading book 2, but I can’t commit to 4 full bookmarks.

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon or Barnes & Noble

half-bad

6 Comments

  1. Thanks to my father who stated to me regarding this weblog, this website is in fact amazing.

    • I’m glad he sent you this way. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. If some one needs expert view concerning running
    a blog afterward i recommend him/her to go to seee thius blog, Keep up the good job.

  3. First of all I want to say awesome blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your thoughts before writing.
    I’ve had a difficult time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out.
    I do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or tips?
    Thank you!

    • Thank you! I don’t really do anything other than tell myself to focus long enough to write something out. I do tend to think a lot about what I’m going to write long before I sit down to write anything out though. Good luck with your writing. 🙂 And thank you for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

