Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

My Life From Hell

by Tellulah Darling

Overview (from B&N.com):  To say that Sophie Bloom is at the top of her game with one only week until spring equinox and the final showdown with Zeus and Hades would be, well, lying. The Goddess of Spring feels more like the Goddess of Bzz Thanks For Playing than the savior of humanity. And could her relationships be any more messed up?

Good times.

Sophie is convinced that things can’t get any worse than crawling back to her mother Demeter and begging for help. But she’s about to find out how very wrong she is.

It’s a race against time for Sophie to implement the big battle strategy in the YA romantic comedy/Greek mythology finale My Life From Hell. Love meets comedy with a whole lot of sass in book three of this teen fantasy romance series. Save herself; save the world. Humanity may be screwed.

Full Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book from the publisher, Te Da Publishing, via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Thoughts:  Greek mythology.  A topic that quite a few people love learning about, but I find boring, most days.  Add in a fictional current day twist and I’m rolling my eyes.  I initially requested this book solely based on the cover of the book.  I didn’t read the description at all.  Stupid right?  I would agree in most cases, but I’m pretty happy with my lack of smarts here.

The writing was quite good.  There were a few spelling and grammar mistakes, but nothing that wasn’t easily overlooked.  It definitely did not hinder the story.  The author’s writing style was exactly my cup of tea.  It was sarcastic and witty.  I was in book heaven.

My Life From Hell is actually the third and final book in The Blooming Goddess trilogy.  I have not actually read the other two books (like I said, I didn’t actually read the description for this).  It didn’t really matter.  The author managed to strike the perfect balance of explanations/descriptions for new readers that pick-up in the middle of a series without boring followers of the trilogy.  It’s a hard line to straddle and I thought the author did a fantastic job.

On to the plot.  I was completely blown away.  I could not believe how interesting every single character was or how quickly I became 100% invested in the story.  I cared about the main character, Sophie, from the very first page.  The author started My Life From Hell with a top ten list (of ways to die) that appealed to so many different facets of my personality.  I really don’t want to gush about a book, but I’m holding myself back from doing exactly that right now.

So, would I recommend it?  Let’s put it this way, I already ordered my own paperback copy of My Life From Hell AND the first two books of the trilogy (My Ex From Hell and My Date From Hell).  I will be reading the whole trilogy as soon as I get them in the mail and I’m so excited that I’m just beyond words (commence happy dancing and jumping).  I would highly recommend My Life From Hell.

5 out of 5 Bookmarks = I loved it and will be reading it again asap, along with books 1 and 2.

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon or Barnes & Noble

my_life_from_hell

2 Comments

  1. Good post however , I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this subject?
    I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit further.
    Bless you!

    • I’m glad you liked it. I’d be happy to elaborate; what more did you want to know about My Life From Hell?

Leave a Reply

