Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

All About You

by Joanna Mazurkiewicz

Overview (from B&N.com):  India started hating Oliver just after Christian’s death. She humiliated him in front of the whole school in order to deal with what Christian had done to her. Then Oliver left town to go to University.

Now it’s time for her to start a new life but she never expected to see Oliver again, especially during her first day of school. Many things have changed since they been apart. Now he is captain of the Rugby team and the most popular bloke on campus. Oliver took her place and he is making her life a living hell.

This time it’s all about him and she is the one who suffers. She fed on her hatred for too long and she refuses to be that way anymore but this is only the beginning of her humiliation.

My Thoughts:  Oh sweet revenge.  It really seems to be a dish best served cold, if you’re cruel.  I don’t think I could keep my attention span focused on hating someone for years.  Then again when I get mad, I’m over it by the next morning.

Something like All About You is something that I have to be in the right mindset to read.  All of the anger and revenge-esque plots can be a bit much if I’m in a happy go-lucky mood.  For the record, I was in the right mindset when I read All About You.

The plot was not overly impressive.  I felt constantly irritated with the way the author slowly doled out bits of pertinent information.  It’s very hard as a reader to sympathize and/or empathize with a character when we have no idea what the motivation is behind dominating emotions (anger, fear and hate in this case).  I’m still not clear on what happened, which I’m pretty sure was what the author intended.  However, it didn’t leave me wanting to pick up the next book to find out what happens.

I did like All About You and was suitably entertained while reading it.  When it comes down to the brass tacks, I would not recommend it.  However, it is free (as of the 5/2/14), so if you decided to read it you won’t be losing any money.

3 out of 5 Bookmarks = It was decent, but I still haven’t decided whether or I’ll be picking up part 2.

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon or Barnes & Noble

c6d6462b76052637a056e929a4512483ce95059d-thumb

 

Leave a Reply

