Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Until the End

by Tracey Ward

Overview (from Goodreads.com):  An outbreak of The Fever has taken hold of Portland, Oregon, bringing the population to its knees. The Fever spreads and kills quickly, but the dead aren’t staying dead.

When her neighbor, Jordan, saves her from one of the infected, Alissa joins him in his plan to escape the city, the disease and the threat of a quarantine that will lock the living in with the undead.

What she doesn’t tell him is that she has an illness of her own, one that plays tricks with her mind and makes her a dangerous companion. But Jordan has a secret as well, one that compels him to keep Alissa, a veritable stranger, safe at all costs.

As they fight for their lives and race for their freedom, they’ll discover that what they truly need in order to survive is to stay together until the end.

*The Quarantined Series is followed by the Survival Series, a spinoff trilogy of books chronicling life 10 years after the outbreak with a few familiar faces…

Full Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book from the author via Goodreads in exchange for an honest review.

My Thoughts:  The zombie apocalypse is without question my new favorite topic to read about.  That may be slightly disturbing or say something about me as a person, but I don’t care.  I read them like I’m a drug addict and they’re my drug.  I had two other zombie books that were constantly duking it out for first place in my mind, but Until the End beat the ever-loving crap out of every other zombie book I’ve read.

The characters were fan-freaking-tastic.  Jordan was a fantastic guy and even with the baggage, I want one.  Alissa might be new favorite heroine.  I was afraid I’d hate her to be honest, especially when I found out how much baggage she carried and that it was essentially a loaded gun (this is all intentionally geeky and corny – metaphor-wise).  They were likable characters individually and the perfect blend together.  They’re chemistry was great without being explicit and over the top.

The plot was my favorite zombie plot so far.  I loved that the author kept referring to it as The Fever.  The little additions from Jordan and Alissa’s backgrounds and how they changed things was unique for a zombie book.  I never would have thought to add mental illness, but it worked wonderfully.  The author managed to hit the nail on the head and never became crass, preachy or overbearing where mental illness was concerned.

So the big question.  Would I recommend Until the End?  Heck yes I would!  Until the End is zombie fiction at its best, in my humble opinion.  I loved it so much that I actually read it twice already and am planning to read the next one.  Although, I’m trying to use some self-control at the moment and not dive right in.  I would highly recommend Until the End.

5 out of 5 Bookmarks = Currently my new favorite zombie book.

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon – Kindle or Paperback

until-the-end

3 Comments

  1. Sounds like an interesting premise. I’ll have to check it out. I’m always down with a good book. If you’re into zombies and apocalyptic stuff, check out my blog: http://www.theapocalypsebites.com. Thanks for sharing! Cheers.

    • It was great. Thanks for stopping by and your blog is awesome!

      • Why thank you! Much appreciated. I’m still a little new to blogging, but I aspire to entertain. 🙂 Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

