Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Crow: The Prequel

by Alex Owens

Overview (from B&N.com):  He’s loved her for thousands of years, but in this lifetime she doesn’t remember him… yet.

This prequel of the Crow series is focused on giving readers a glimpse into one of Pia’s past lives and to show Beylin hard at work as a Memory Stealer and Soul Bearer. If you haven’t read any of the Crow series, start here. 

About the Series: Cassiopeia “Pia” Alexander is floundering. She can’t pick a college major, her love life is virtually non-existent and the only thing good in her life is her job as an Animal ER Nurse. Even that doesn’t feel like enough, though. 

Beylin Callaghan belongs to the Brotherhood, who give souls a winged-ride from one life to the next and remove the memories from each soul so that they have a fresh slate in their new incarnations. But he’s keeping a secret– a secret that when exposed, will bind Pia’s fate to his own. For better or worse.

Crow: The Prequel is novella length (approx. 11,000 words) and is the first installment in this new adult fantasy series. The episode release schedule can be seen below… and fans are encouraged to visit Alex’s website to influence the outcome of the overall story.

Full Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book from the author via LibraryThing in exchange for an honest review.

My Thoughts:  Magic?  Reincarnation?  Both cool concepts that I love reading about because every author has a unique twist.  Plus this is a prequel, which can be an awesome introduction to a series that you haven’t started yet or a bonus for a beloved series.  I’m firmly in the former category.  Crow:  The Prequel was my introduction to the Crow series.

The main character, Beylin was really interesting.  His job is definitely a unique one (ushering souls from one life to the next).  The character Pia was okay.  I didn’t fully understand his consuming love for her, but I assume that is explained more fully as you continue the series.

The plot was pretty cool.  There are a lot of secrets with twists and turns to the plot.  I both liked that and hated it in equal measures.  It left me frustrated that I wasn’t 100% clear on everything that was happening and the motivations behind why characters were reacting a certain why.  It also whet my appetite enough that I’m interested in reading the first book of the series.

First of all, there is some sexual content, so I would say ages 18+.  As for a recommendation?  I think I’d be more likely to recommend Crow:  The Prequel to those that already read the Crow series.  As for everyone else, stay tuned for my review of Crow:  Episode 1.

3 out of 5 Bookmarks = I liked it and am looking forward to reading Crow:  Episode 1.

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon or Barnes & Noble

 crow-prequel-july-2013-copy

Leave a Reply

