Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Life of Pi (Rated PG)

Starring:  Suraj Sharma, Irrfan Khan, Adil Hussain

Directed by:  Ang Lee

Synopsis:  A young man who survives a disaster at sea is hurtled into an epic journey of adventure and discovery.  While cast away, he forms an unexpected connection with another survivor:  a fearsome Bengal tiger.

My Thoughts:  The hype around both the book and the movie, especially with the Oscar buzz, did Life of Pi no favors in my mind.  It really just upped my expectations, which is a dangerous thing with a movie.

The acting was fine.  It was actually pretty impressive, considering there wasn’t a real tiger to react to on the boat.  I did like the story telling nature of the movie.  That made it a little more intriguing for me, seeing what happened as a story through Pi’s memory.

There were parts of the Life of Pi that were humorous.  Visually, it was an absolutely gorgeous movie.  I can’t say I’ve seen any other movie that matched the beautiful scenery and visual effects found in Life of Pi.  Having said that, I was bored through a good portion of the movie (at least half of it).  Not to mention, I really didn’t like the end.

To be honest, I’m not really sure why this movie and the book received such high praise, but it left a lot to be desired.  I really would not recommend Life of Pi, unless you’re really into the artistic side of movies.

3 out of 5 Popcorn Buckets = I liked it, but I wasn’t overly impressed with it.

Interested in buying this movie?  DVD or Instant Video

life_of_pi

1 Comment

  1. I think it’s a popular book because it has a LOT of Christian/religious undertones. Also, the twist at the end is much more exciting in the book, though the beginning of the book is dreadfully boring, lol. Still, there’s something about the book that makes it rate up there in the favorites for me, but I also read it like 8-9 years ago.

Leave a Reply

