Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

My Date From Hell

by Tellulah Darling

Overview (from B&N.com):  Sophie Bloom’s junior year has been a bit of a train wreck. After the world’s greatest kiss re-awakened Sophie’s true identity as Persephone (Goddess of Spring and Savior of Humanity), she fought her dragon-lady guidance counselor to the death, navigated mean girl Bethany’s bitchy troublemaking, and dealt with the betrayal of her backstabbing ex, Kai (sexy Prince of Darkness). You’d think a girl could catch a break.

Yeah, right.

With Zeus stepping things up, it’s vital that Sophie retrieve Persephone’s memories and discover the location of the ritual to stop Zeus and Hades. So when Aphrodite strikes a deal that can unlock Sophie’s pre-mortal past, what choice does the teen goddess have but to accept?

The mission: stop media mogul Hermes from turning Bethany into a global mega-celebrity. The catch? Aphrodite partners Sophie and Kai to work together … and treat this suicide mission as a date. Which could work out for Sophie’s plan to force Kai to admit his feelings for her-if she doesn’t kill him first.

Add to that the fact that BFF Theo’s love life and other BFF Hannah’s actual life are in Sophie’s hands, and suddenly being a teenager-even a godlike one-seems a bit like … well, hell. Whatever happened to dinner and a movie?

The YA romantic comedy/Greek mythology fireworks continue to fly in My Date From Hell. Love meets comedy with a whole lot of sass in book two of this teen fantasy romance series. Breaking up is easy; dating is deadly.

My Thoughts:  I don’t know how many more good things I can say about this series without overselling it.  It’s a rare day for me to find a book that I really love, let alone an entire series/trilogy.  I’m not too picky when it comes to actually reading books, but I’m definitely stingy with those 5 out of 5 ratings.

I’m a big fan of the way the author reviews the previous book.  If you accidentally read them in the wrong order, you don’t really feel lost.  If you read them with large gaps in between, you still don’t feel lost or forget big plot points.  And if you read them one right after the other, there’s no feeling of annoyance at the repetitive nature of a recap.

The development of the characters was very entertaining.  I find Sophie hilarious.  Her bickering with Kai is great to read and keeps me reading with a big, dorky grin on my face.  The introduction of new characters, like Festos, was done very well.  The author introduced a few new characters, but I didn’t feel like any other characters suffered because of this.

Since I’ve already posted reviews for the other two books in this series, I’ll just go ahead and wrap this up quickly.  I absolutely loved My Date From Hell.  It’s actually my favorite in The Blooming Goddess trilogy.  I would highly recommend My Date From Hell.  I’m guessing you’ll get a few laughs from it; I definitely did.

5 out of 5 Bookmarks = I would give it 6 if I could.

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon or Barnes & Noble

my date from hell

Leave a Reply

