Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books on My Summer TBR (To Be Read) List

It’s that time again!  The Top Ten Tuesday is once again hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

So this week’s topic is a pretty good one, in my humble opinion.  I love the lists for books to be read.  It helps me set more of a concrete goal to accomplish.  And a summer to be read list has the potential to get done.  Reading by the ocean, lake, pool or wherever is one of the most relaxing things to do (for me, at least).  I’m very excited to share my planned reading list for the summer with all of you; so let’s get this party started!

*Note:  I thought I’d try something different with the book covers.  I’m still not sure I really like this format.  It’s kind of cool in a really weird way.  I’m still on the fence.  Next week will be the real test to see if I do it again.

 Top 10 Books on My Summer TBR (To Be Read) List

1.  Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige:  It’s had so much publicity that I just can’t help but get sucked in and want to read it.

2.  Looking for Alaska by John Green:  I just want to love John Green’s books, so I’m determined to read at least 3 of them (since I own 3 of them).

3.  Boy, Snow, Bird by Helen Oyeyemi:  I have been excited about this book for months.  That’s also means my expectations are exceptionally high and I need to take them down a few notches before reading it.

4.  Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher:  I’ve heard so many good things about this book, but haven’t had the time to sit down and read it yet.

5.  The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling:  Harry Potter is amazing, so why wouldn’t I give her newest book a chance.  I’m going in with eyes wide open and know that it has nothing to do with the magical world.

6.  Saltwater Witch by Chris Howard:  I actually won a signed copy of this on Goodreads and just haven’t had a chance to read it yet.  I was thinking saltwater = summer.  Maybe?

7.  Zombie Spaceship Wasteland by Patton Oswalt:  Okay.  Confession time.  I may have originally picked this up because I saw the word zombie (don’t judge!), but it actually looks pretty funny.

8.  Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia:  This just looks like a good book.  Plus I refuse to see the movie before reading the book.  Yes, I’m one of those people.

9.  Uganda Be Kidding Me by Chelsea Handler:  I’m a big fan of her offensive humor.  I’ve read all of her other books; why wouldn’t I be excited about reading this one too?

10.  Taken by Erin Bowman:  I randomly ran across this little gem at the library and apparently it’s the first in a fairly popular series.  I look forward to seeing how it pans out.

Now I’m seriously pumped for this summer reading list!  I just want to go home and read for like a week straight.  No work or need for breaks.

10 Comments

  1. I love Looking For Alaska! It is in my top ten for sure. Also I am one of those people that refuse to see the movie before I read the book either for the most part.

    • Good to know that I’m not alone on that. And I’m really looking forward to Looking For Alaska. It sounds awesome and the fact that it’s in your top ten bodes well. 🙂

  2. I just got Dorothy Must Die from the library and I can’t wait to start it – it looks very interesting. I’ll be interested to see what you think of JK’s non-HP book if you get to reading it, because I’m not sure if I want to read it…

    • I figured you’d be either already be reading Dorothy Must Die or it would be on your list. 🙂 I’m pretty excited for that and A Casual Vacancy. We’ll see how they go.

  3. I didn’t like A Casual Vacancy, truth be told. I felt like she should have stayed with either fantasy or YA.

    • I haven’t heard very many good things about it, but I thought I should give it a try anyway.

      • Ironically, I’ve heard her Robert G. stuff is better. Which is strange because it’s just a pen name, lol

      • Haha. I’ve heard that too. I actually have one of her Robert G. books and just haven’t read it. Too many book and not enough free time. The curse of a reading addict. :/

  4. I think Boy, Snow, Bird is entrancing and thought provoking, definitely a book I will not forget. I hope you like it.

    • I hope so too. I’m only a few pages in, but I read a sample chapter awhile ago that was excellent. I’m glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

Leave a comment