Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Guest Review: The City by Dean Koontz

gues-revew-meme*Guest Review by Kelsey

Plot Summary:

The city changed my life and showed me that the world is deeply mysterious. I need to tell you about her and some terrible things and wonderful things and amazing things that happened . . . and how I am still haunted by them. Including one night when I died and woke and lived again.

Here is the riveting, soul-stirring story of Jonah Kirk, son of an exceptional singer, grandson of a formidable “piano man,” a musical prodigy beginning to explore his own gifts when he crosses a group of extremely dangerous people, with shattering consequences. Set in a more innocent time not so long ago, The City encompasses a lifetime but unfolds over three extraordinary, heart-racing years of tribulation and triumph, in which Jonah first grasps the electrifying power of music and art, of enduring friendship, of everyday heroes.

The unforgettable saga of a young man coming of age within a remarkable family, and a shimmering portrait of the world that shaped him, The City is a novel that speaks to everyone, a dazzling realization of the evergreen dreams we all share. Brilliantly illumined by magic dark and light, it’s a place where enchantment and malice entwine, courage and honor are found in the most unexpected quarters, and the way forward lies buried deep inside the heart.

Review:

I received a copy of this book from NetGalley for an honest review.

This is the first book by Dean Koontz that I’ve read and after all the hype about his books I was not disappointed. After reading The City, I plan to read a lot more of his books.

I really enjoyed how the book was written. We learn from Jonah, our narrator, who is telling us the story, rather than writing it down. I found this to be fascinating and a great way to tell a story, especially Jonah’s story.

The book has a lot of musical elements. All of Jonah’s family have musical ties and Jonah references his favorite music and musicians a lot. I found it very entertaining, since I come from a musical family.

The characters were also relatable and genuine. I felt like I got to know each and every person Jonah talked about. Some were a joy to know, while others I would’ve liked to skip.

The City moved at a good pace and kept me flipping to the end. There was a little lull in the middle, but not enough for me to put the book down.

I really enjoyed The City! I cannot say it enough. It was such a joy to read and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys crime/mystery novels or just a good read for a rainy day.

4 out of 5 stars

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon or Barnes & Noble

The-City

Leave a Reply

