Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Blogging Confessions

This Top Ten Tuesday is host, as always, by The Broke and the Bookish.

toptentuesday

I feel like I have to fess up that I was not excited about this post when I saw the title.  I’m not very good at confessing to things because I don’t really want to confirm I’m as dorky as people assume I am.  Having said that once I started thinking about some of my blogging confessions, I realized that they may not come as a surprise to most readers.  Who knows, maybe you want to learn a little more about me and my normally secret bookish ways.  Besides, isn’t there a saying that confession is good for the soul?  We’ll see.

Top 10 Blogging Confessions

1.  I started this blog because I tend to read a lot of books and I just really wanted to give my opinion on them so that other people wouldn’t waste their money if a book was terrible or their time, in the case of free books.

2.  In relation to #1, once I found out you could get free books I was sold on sticking with it.  It was kind of like finding a way to feed your addiction, without spending hundreds of dollars (like you used to do).

3.  I am actually addicted to reading.  I wish I was kidding about this, but I’m not.  I get extremely grumpy and sort of witchy (feel free to replace the w with a b) when I don’t get to read for a minimum of 30 minutes daily.  I have even purposely cancelled plans in order to continue reading a book that I’m really into (this is not healthy and I’m fully aware of that fact).

bookaddict

4.  I don’t usually read the synopsis/overview of a book.  I tend to pick up books based on the cover, title or author.  Sometimes I even just randomly pick things up, just so that I can read a little bit of everything.

5.  I’m slightly OCD about reading a series in the correct order.  I even prefer to read the prequel before the first book if I can.  This probably sounds slightly hypocritical because lately I’ve read more than one series out-of-order, but those were special cases (where I was being an absolute idiot).

6.  It bothers me to not finish a book.  I actually get stressed out about the idea of not finishing a book once it’s been started.  You know, I think I may have issues.  :/

7.  I haven’t even read 20% of the books that I own.  This is a bit embarrassing, but probably not surprising if you knew how many books I owned.  This includes actual books and ebooks.

Signs-Youre-Addicted-Reading

8.  The majority of my family and friends know nothing about my blog.  I haven’t said a word.  I’m not necessarily embarrassed by it (I’m actually quite proud and maybe a little smug), but I still haven’t told them.  The few people who know about it found out by accident (a few of my work friends have seen me typing up reviews and asked about it) or someone told them about it.  The response has been positive, but I still haven’t really told anyone.

9.  More than once, I’ve said up into the wee hours of the morning because I just had to finish that book (my friend, Brittany, sent me this very apt photo on Facebook a few days ago).

reading

10.  I’m secretly proud of just how geeky I am, but I haven’t gotten to the point where I own it in front of others.  Some days it’s like the bookish part of my personality is a completely different person.

Addicted-to-reading

So, now you’re all privy to a few things that I’ve been keeping to myself.  I could go on, but it’s a top 10 list and really I prefer to keep these things close to the vest anyway.  I don’t really feel any different after having confessed to these things.  Hopefully your bookish confessions make you feel a little more free and keep reading!

8 Comments

  1. I definitely haven’t read very many of my own book so I feel you on that one! I also started out by not telling many people about my blog but it kind of slips out now and people are always really interested to hear about it.

    • I’ll have to start actually trying to mention it when it’s relevant instead of shying away from it. And it seems like having a blog helps a tad with the motivation to get a few more books off of my to-read shelf. I don’t know if that’s helped you or not. Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

  2. We definitely have some things in common. Why are we so afraid to own it in front of others??

    • I don’t know, but it was a surprisingly common confession with this post. At least we’re all afraid together. 🙂

  3. A lot of my family and friends don’t know about my blog either. Of the ones that do…I think one person (maybe two?) actually reads it. So I guess you could say I started blogging partially to find other people who care about reading as much as I do!

    • Yeah, it really is nice to find so many other people that get just as excited about reading as I do. Since none of family or friends are really like that, I started thinking it was just a weird personality quirk. Thanks for stopping in!

  4. +JMJ+

    The image your friend Brittany sent you should be on one of my bookmarks! Maybe it would help me to remember that moderation is a virtue . . . Or maybe not . . . LOL!

    • That would make an awesome bookmark! I definitely don’t read in moderation either. :/

Leave a Reply

