Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Sadie the Sadist

*Note:  I’m slightly embarrassed by this review, but it’s my honest opinion on the book.

by Zane Sachs

Overview (from B&N.com):  Like many people, Sadie feels undervalued and frustrated. Employed by a supermarket, she plots to murder coworkers-or lure them into the employee bathroom for a quickie. Sick of being treated like a robot, she taps into a powerful (and deranged) alter-ego and transforms into Sadie the Sadist. READER BEWARE: This book contains graphic violence, psycho/sexual incidents, and Sadie’s favorite recipes. X-tremely Black Humor/Horror.

Full Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book from the author, via LibraryThing, in exchange for an honest review.

My Thoughts:  I can be quite anal/OCD/however you want to word it, about finishing books.  I hate not finishing a book.  Even when I’m bored I usually just suffer through in order to finish it.  I look at it as one of my many bookish quirks.  Having said that, this review for Sadie the Sadist is a DNF (did not finish).

The writing was very good.  It set a good pace and was very detailed.  Unfortunately for me, it made my imagination run a little too wild and I started to feel sick while reading.  It was too disturbing for me (which means I finally found a limit on what I can handle reading).

The main character, Sadie, was interesting (on a psychological level).  I learned a lot about sadism, more than I wanted to know if I’m being completely honest.  Some of Sadie the Sadist gave me nightmares and they were so bad that I was sleep-walking (an embarrassing admission, but nonetheless true).

I’ve never considered myself a squeamish person, when reading.  I also seem to have a much higher tolerance level for disturbing things when I’m reading about them versus seeing them on TV or in movies.  I couldn’t stomach finishing Sadie the Sadist.  Frankly, writing this review is making me think about scenes from the book and it’s causing me feel sick again.

My advice is that you take the READER BEWARE warning in the overview seriously.  I didn’t and wish I had.  So, I wouldn’t recommend Sadie the Sadist, but I didn’t finish it.

2 out of 5 Bookmarks = I didn’t like it because it actually gave me nightmares and I couldn’t finish it.

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon or Barnes & Noble

sadie_the_sadist

 

7 Comments

  1. Seriously… I HAVE to read this book now. Just because of your thoughts on it. I need to know if I’ll react the same, or if I’m so desensitized that it won’t bother me.

  2. Hi Melissa, Thanks so much for attempting to read Sadie the Sadist, even when it made you sick! That wasn’t my intention, but I can certainly understand your reaction. Very kind of you to try. Thanks for the review. You may prefer the book I’m working on right now, Jayne Just Watches … it won’t be as violent or sexual. More psychological.

    Z

    • That sounds pretty cool. I’ll keep an eye out for it. And thank you again!

  3. Kudos for recognizing your limit and then not being afraid to tell your readers.

    • Thank you! I initially got the idea of writing a DNF review from you. I read one of yours and realized, it’s okay to not finish a book and tell people that. So, I owe you a thank you on that one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

