Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Movies and TV Shows

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

toptentuesday

I was so excited when I saw this week’s topic.  I may love to read, but I also love TV and movies (when I can find the time to watch them).  I’m not doing them by category or anything crazy or hard to understand.  I’m simply going to list my Top 5 Movies and my Top 5 TV Shows.  I think this week will be extra interesting because these choices may tell you a bit more about your favorite book bloggers.  Here we go. . . !

*Note:  I may have gone a tad overboard with the gifs, but I get REALLY excited about this week’s post.

Top 5 Movies (Of All Time)

1.  Blackhawk Down – I’m not really sure what it says about my mindset that a war movie is one of my favorites, but there it is.  Plus, Tom Hardy is amazing.

blackhawk_down

2.  The Boondock Saints – Even with all of the swearing and “gratuitous violence” it’s a cult classic that most people seem to experience during their college years.  And it’s awesome, if you’re ok with blood and violence.

boondock-saints

3.  Frozen – I’m a huge musical dork (can’t freaking wait for Wicked to come out on DVD) and Frozen combined musical with animation into movie magic.  I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve seen it.

frozen

4.  Miracle – It’s an underdog movie, which will pull at your heart strings and make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside.  But it’s all about hockey (which is spectacular) and it’s based on the true story of the 1980 US Olympic team.  More bang for your buck.

miracle

5.  Mamma Mia – I can sing the entire soundtrack without messing up single word (but it won’t be in the right key and I’m not sure if I’m hitting real notes).  I’m also a huge fan of Amanda Seyfried and Christine Baranski (she’s perfect on The Big Bang Theory).

mamma_mia

Honorable Mention:  The Veronica Mars movie – It was just too fantastically mind-blowing not to mention it.

veronica_mars_movie

Top 5 TV Shows

1.  NCIS – This is my all-time favorite show, ever since it spun off from JAG.  Now, when is Ziva coming back?

ncis-gif

2.  Doctor Who – I am a complete geek when it comes to DW.  This is one of those shows that makes me wish they would update Netflix faster.  I love them all, but like everyone else I have a favorite Doctor and that is without question, David Tennant.

doctor_who

3.  Veronica Mars – I loved this show and was inconsolable when they cancelled it (idiots).  Then the movie came out and blew me away with its awesomeness.

veronica_mars

4.  Once Upon a Time – I’m pretty sure everyone watches this show and loves it.  I’m slightly behind though and will be having a binge watching session in the very near future.

once_upon_a_time

5.  Supernatural – This show is ridiculously amazing.  I keep thinking, “there’s no way they can do anything from there.  It’s over.”  BAM!  They prove me wrong.

supernatural

Honorable mention:  The Walking Dead – Did you really think I’d leave zombies off of this list?  I am kind of obsessed right now.  Plus, I really love that they’ve never referred to them as zombies.

walking_dead

So, as you can see my tastes are all over the map.  I can’t seem to find a genre that I exclusively am a fan of, but I think that’s a good thing.  What did you pick for today’s Top Ten Tuesday?

 

16 Comments

  1. Every bookish person I know is obsessed with Veronica Mars. I feel like I’m missing out like whoa! I need to jump on that band wagon, ASAP!

    • It used to be on Netflix which was convenient, but it’s definitely worth finding it to watch.

  2. OMG I can’t believe I forgot Doctor Who on my list this week – what is wrong with me?! I love that show. Who’s your fave doctor?

    • David Tennant. I like the others, but DT was just in another league. Yours?

      • He’s my favorite too!!! I cried so much when he died 😦

  3. Ahhhhhhh, Doctor Who, YES David Tennant! And Once Upon A Time, I SWOON over Hook every episode!!

    • Haha. I do too, ever since season 2. He’s an amazing character and kinda makes me rethink the whole Peter Pan story.

      • Definitely. I really think the writers had a moment of genius when they decided to make Peter Pan the bad guy.

      • In the original story Peter Pan actually was the bad guy. He kidnapped children in the night and the king sent Captain Hook to bring the children back. In the original Pan was the only one who never aged and was known to murder the children who we had taken to Neverland when they grew too old. It wasn’t until Disney came in and wanted the children to identify with Pan rather than Hook, then the story changed.

      • Wow, I guess I never realized Pan was yet another story that got Disney-fied.

      • I knew Disney changed the story, but I didn’t realize they changed it to that degree. I’m going to have to look the original up now. Thanks for the info! 🙂

  4. David Tennant is my Doctor as well. Although I love all of them. Just started Veronica Mars and I love it

  5. Ahh, Miracle! “The legs feed the wolf, gentlemen.” Also, I really need to get around to Boondock Saints one of these days!

    • Gah! Finally, someone else that appreciates the awesomeness of Miracle!! 😀

      • Are you kidding? I love that movie! “I play for…the United States of America!!!”

      • I think one of my favorites had to be, “These guys ever smile?” “They’re Russians. They get shot if they smile.”

Leave a Reply

