Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Southwind Knights

by B. E. Priest

Overview (from B&N.com):  In an age when people lived off the land and the Wild was still wild—when a young Queen warmed the throne and her Bulwark Knights patrolled the unruly borders—the edge of civilization was a place where dreams went to die.

Welcome to Southwind.

Asher’s best friend has been poisoned.
He has three days to live.
The only cure: a unicorn horn.
The only place to find one:
Dragoncliff Cove, where none dare go.

Full Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book from the author, via LibraryThing, in exchange for an honest review.

My Thoughts:  Someone is going on an adventure?  There are dragons and unicorns in this land?  Sign me up for that read.  No need to twist my arm.

Southwind Knights was not what I was expecting, meaning it surpassed any and all expectations.  It was an adventure from the very first page.  It’s a short story, but it never felt rushed or too short.  It weirdly felt longer than it actually was.  The whole book made you feel as though you were on Asher’s quest too and it.  was.  Awesome!

Asher was a solid character.  Nothing overly annoying to detract from my enjoyment of the book, but I did still care what happened to him.  He was quite likable and a bit naive (but in a cute and lovable way).  It was also refreshing to read a story that was character driven with a dangerous and fun adventure without it involving a love story.  I enjoyed reading about these characters without the jealous/spurned lover aspect.

Southwind Knights was an adventuresome, character-driven story that I enjoyed reading.  I’m looking forward to reading the second book in the very near future.  I would recommend Southwind Knights.

3.5 out 5 Bookmarks = I was surprised by how much I genuinely enjoyed this book and look forward to reading the second one.

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon or Barnes & Noble

southwind_knights

Leave a Reply

