Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Guest Review: Until the End by Tracey Ward

Guest Review by BookJunkieKrystal from Books Are My Thing.

gues-revew-meme

Today is the second and final (for now) installment of our Round Robin Guest Posts!

BookJunkieKrystal from Books Are My Thing, Ali from No Money 4 Books, and I are each going to review a book for a guest post on each other’s blogs. We are going to do this twice so we each post on each other’s blogs once.

If you’d like to read our first posts, all about Stephen King books, you can find my review of Firestarter on BookJunkieKrystal’s blog, Ali’s review of The Eyes of the Dragon here, and BookJunkieKrystal’s review of Doctor Sleep on Ali’s blog.

For this second round, we each chose a book for one of the others to read.  I chose Until the End (a zombie book) for BookJunkieKrystal, Ali chose These Broken Stars (sci-fi) for me and Krystal chose The Monsters of Templeton for Ali.

So why on earth would I choose a zombie book for BookJunkieKrystal when I know she’s not really into them?  Easy.  I wanted to convert her.  I figured if I found a zombie book that was a little bit different and she really enjoyed, she might not be so hesitant to pick them up in the future.  It actually started out as a joke that I would recommend a zombie book and I ended up doing exactly that.

Check out all the reviews by clicking on the links to the blogs above.  My review can be found over at No Money 4 Books.

 

Hey everyone!  My name is BookJunkieKrystal, and I blog over at Books Are My Thing.  I post a little bit of everything bookish, but tend to really enjoy reading YA, Sci-Fi, and Fantasy.  I am thrilled to be a guest today at Reviews In A Pinch!

As Mel explained, she suggested I read Until The End by Tracey Ward.  I’ve never been a big zombie person, but I figured what the heck?  If she liked it then there’s a good chance I will too, zombies or not.

until-the-end

Goodreads Summary

This book starts out very similar to most zombie books I think, with the main character not really knowing what’s going on at first.  You’re very quickly introduced to the gore though, when she walks in on one roommate eating another.  It was a little hard for me to get past the stereotypical set-up initially, but as the book progressed, I began to like it more and more.

I really liked Alissa’s character, she felt real to me.  This might sound weird, but the fact that she had major mental problems to deal with made her seem more humane.  She was terrified of what would happen without her pills, and it was a constant worry for her.  But she was also determined not to let her mental illness get the best of her, as much as she could.

I also enjoyed the pace of Alissa and Jordan’s budding romance.  There was no insta-love, just a sense of survival that led to more as they got to know each other.  They were both afraid to come out and be frank with the other person at first, which is how we all are, zombies or not.  From there, things naturally progressed as they began to care for one another.  Very natural.

The plot was also surprisingly believable, at least in a survival scenario kind of way.  If a disease were to ever break out like “The Fever”, people would most definitely behave the way the characters in Until The End behaved.  I was reminded vaguely of Max Brooks’ World War Z in this respect. I did think the book was a bit drawn out.  It’s the first of a trilogy, and I think it could have been condensed down.  I read most of it during a long car ride for work, and it probably would have taken me longer to get through if I hadn’t been stuck with little to do.

Overall, this was still a zombie story.  Even though I enjoyed so much of the book, zombies just aren’t my thing.  It’s not the gore or anything, I grew up on Stephen King and the Sci-Fi channel.  It’s just not my brand of paranormal.  I probably won’t pick up the 2nd and 3rd books, only because I’ve got far too many others that are higher on the list for me.  Still, I think anyone who likes a good zombie story would love this book, so I’m giving it 4 out of 5.  🙂

I’m so happy and fairly relieved that BookJunkieKrystal liked Until the End!  I knew she wasn’t a zombie fan, but I took the risk of recommending it anyway and am very satisfied with the results.

3 Comments

  1. ZW

    Fantastic items from you, man. I have take into accout your stuff prior to and you’re simply too great. I really like what you’ve acquired right here, really like what you are stating and the best way in which you assert it. You are making it entertaining and you continue to care for to stay it sensible. I cant wait to read much more from you. This is actually a terrific site.

  2. VJ

    Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have you ever been running a blog for? you make running a blog glance easy. The whole glance of your site is great, as smartly as the content!

  3. OS

    Your style is so unique compared to other folks I have read stuff from. Thank you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just book mark this page.

Leave a Reply

