Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Treat Yo Self Thursday – July 17, 2014

treat-yo-self-thursday1

At No Money 4 Books, they have a weekly meme going for Treat Yo Self Thursday.  It’s based off of Parks and Recreation and I love seeing what Ali has treated herself to every week.  I don’t normally treat myself because when I do, I go way overboard with it.  See our last Treat Yo Self post here.  This week I was buying a book that a co-worker recommended I read (for dating because I’m pretty sure she thinks I’m hopeless) and I just decided I’d buy a few books that have been on my wishlist anyway.  Check out what I bought below:

meeting_your_half_orange

  • Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo (The Grisha #1) – This series looks quite good and it’s received its fair share of praise throughout the book community, so I figured why not give it try.  It was only $5.72.

shadow_and_bone

  • Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo (The Grisha #2) – I figured I would grab the second book in the series, just in case I absolutely love the first book and go on an obsessive reading binge.  It’s happened before and bound to happen again.

siege_and_storm

  • Cinder by Marissa Meyer (The Lunar Chronicles #1) – This series is incredibly popular, especially among book bloggers.  I picked up a copy at the library, but just couldn’t get into it.  So, I found this for $6.51 and figured it was worth trying again.

cinder

  • The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu – I tried through multiple sites to get an early review copy of this book and didn’t manage to get one.  I was disappointed, but have now broken down and just bought myself a copy.

the_truth_about_alice

 

Like I really needed anymore books to read.  I should take a picture of my to-read bookshelves when I get home, just so that everyone sees what I mean.  Those shelves don’t even include all of my ebooks.  I have a problem.

So I’ll end with asking the same question that No Money 4 Books asked earlier, did you treat yourself this week?

2 Comments

  1. You got some amazing books!!!! Lunar Chronicles is one of my all time favorite series, and if you aren’t super thrilled with Cinder (some people aren’t) give the second one, Scarlet, a chance because that is probably my favorite of the 3 out now. I loved Shadow and Bone and was thinking of getting the sequel next week as my treat. Hope you love them – I think you probably will lol. 🙂

    • Dang, now I have to read them without complaint (I’m sticking to my Ali knows best statement). You’ll have to review Siege and Storm so that I know what to expect. 🙂

Leave a Reply

