Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Characters I Would Want With Me on a Deserted Island

toptentuesday

 

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s Top 10 challenge was interesting one for me.  Sometimes I really have an issue when it comes to making a decision, so these lists are a challenge in and of themselves.  But to narrow it down to only 10 characters I might want to be stuck with on a deserted island was mind-boggling at first.  Just so that everyone is on the same page as I am, in my mind I’m not on an island with all of these characters at the same time.  It’s a one-on-one situation.  Feel free to read on and see who I chose to end up stranded with and whether or not survival is a possibility.

*The links will take you to my review of the book, if it’s available.

Top 10 Characters I Would Want With Me on a Deserted Island

1.  Charlie Weasley from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling:  For some reason I had the biggest crush on him, even though he’s hardly in the books.  I think it was the fact that he worked with dragons.  It made him seem a bit dangerous.  Plus maybe there’ll be a dragon on the island and his skills will be extremely useful.

2.  Jane Eyre from Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte:  I think we’d have a lot to talk about.  She’s admirable in so many ways and I may be a tad jealous of her intellectual and moral superiority.  Maybe if we hung out on an island together, some of those good qualities would rub off on me.

3.  Peter and Lucy Pevensie from The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis:  These two were always my favorite characters in this series and when the movies came out that didn’t change.  Plus, maybe they’ll find and entrance to Narnia on the island and I’ll get to visit and of course meet Aslan!  How cool would that be?!

4.  Tarver Merendsen from These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner:  The guy is a level-headed soldier.  You can’t ask for much more than that when looking for a survival partner.  Bonus, he’s gorgeous.

5.  Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins:  Who wouldn’t want to learn how to hunt and use a bow and arrows from someone as adept as Katniss.  I want to learn from the best, if I’m going to learn at all.

6.  Samantha Hoffman and Reese from Zombie Island by Samantha Hoffman:  While reading Zombie Island, I just remember thinking, “I could definitely see myself being friends with her.”  It’d be nice to have a friend out in the middle of nowhere.  And Reese sounded like he might be my type.

7.   Dobby the House Elf from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling:  He was awesome, not to mention adorable.  Plus he can apparate us right off the island if we need to get away.

8.  Neville Longbottom from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling:  Dude knows his plants.  We wouldn’t have to worry about eating something poisonous and dying.

9.  Charlie Boden from Hollowmen by Amanda Hocking:  He’s a good-looking soldier that kicks butt during the zombie apocalypse.  Therefore, he’s both eye candy and useful.

10.  Jude from Suite Dreams by Rachel Hawthorne:  He would be so much fun.  He’s got an Australian accent and he’s into all sorts of fun/sporty activities.  There’s no way I’d get bored on the island with Jude around.

So apparently, based on this list, I really just want to live in the world created by J.K. Rowling.  And it also looks as though I’m really into soldiers.   I think this means I need to go out on a date asap.  Who did you decide to end up deserted with?

10 Comments

  1. THESE BROKEN STARS didn’t make the final cut for my list, but it was a contender! And hello, fellow Morganville fan! Thanks for stopping by!

    Rachel @ Beauty and the Bookshelf

    • Ah, so we both had something that was a contender on the other’s list, but ultimately didn’t make the cut. Thank you for stopping by here too!

  2. Great lineup! you will def have a badass team on that Island! I love the diversity as well 🙂
    I really need to read These Broken Stars, a lot of people have added characters from that book
    My TTT

    • It’s definitely a book worth your time and since they have to survive on a deserted planet I think most people figured Tarver was a smart choice. Thank you for stopping by! 😀

  3. Ohh Tarver is a great choice, I forgot all about him. Not only can he help you survive, he is so sweet!

  4. Dobby! Great choice! I wouldn’t have thought of Dobby, but he’s perfect. Thanks for stopping by!

    Michelle @ Michelle’s Minions

  5. Really interesting choices from Harry Potter and the Narnia books. I never would have thought of brining Dobby but that is such a great choice!

    • Thank you! I didn’t realize how random that seemed until I started reading other TTT lists. Thank you for popping by. 🙂

  6. Brilliant choices! I didn’t even think of Tarver but he’d definitely be a great guy to have on the island with you. I used to wish we got to see more of Charlie in the HP books! Katniss is probably on 99% of lists today and for good reason. I would definitely have her put on hunting duty, she’d be amazing at that! 🙂 Here’s my TTT.

    • He would be an awesome island companion. 😀 I’m really glad someone else wanted to see more of Charlie and I’m not alone in that!

Leave a Reply

