Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books People Have Been Telling Me I MUST Read

toptentuesday We’re baaaaack!  It’s about time we get back into our book blogging ways here at Reviews in a Pinch.  This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, as always.  My guess is this was an easy list for the majority of book bloggers to make.  Who doesn’t like to recommend books?!  I don’t about anybody else, but it seems like when people find out I have a book review blog the first thing they say is, “there’s this book you should read.”

“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.” -John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

Top 10 Books People Have Been Telling Me I MUST Read

1.  Cinder by Marissa Meyer – Really, I’ve been told I need to read the entire Lunar Chronicles.  I actually started Cinder, made it a little less than 50 pages in and got bored.  It’s one of the many books that have fallen victim to my reading A.D.D.

2.  Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell – I read Eleanor & Park and was monumentally disappointed so it’s just been very difficult to muster the enthusiasm and motivation to even pick this one up (the saddest part might be that I do already own it).

3.  Divergent by Veronica Roth – I don’t actually have a reason (good or bad) for why I have yet to read anything in this series.  I haven’t seen the movie either.

4.  Anything by Jane Austen – I know it’s ridiculous that I still haven’t read a single book by her, but I’ve just never had the inclination.  At this point, it’s like a weird badge of honor/shame to have not read a Jane Austen book.

5.  Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige – I’m actually looking forward to reading this one.  It’s been a struggle to stick to my book order list and not just jump to reading this one.

6.  World War Z by Max Brooks – Most people can’t believe that I’m a huge fan of the zombie genre and I haven’t read this gem.  In my defense, there are a lot of zombie books out there and I don’t generally pick up a book just because it’s popular/Hollywood made a movie out of it.

7.  The Hangman’s Daughter by Oliver Potzsch – This one is a little different.  After I started reading this, people were telling me how great it was and that I’d absolutely love it.  I don’t love it, so far.  It’s interesting, but for me to use love when it comes to books is not a normal occurrence.

8.  The Vampire Diaries by L. J. Smith – Just kill me now.  I know a ton of you are probably fans of the books, the show or possibly both.  I am not.  I’ve been overloaded on vampires and just can’t stand TVD (this would be the perfect spot for the whole ‘sorry I’m not sorry’ thing).

9.  Meeting Your Half-Orange by Amy Spencer – I don’t know why so many people think I need to read this.  I’m not a relationship retard (pronounced like Alan from The Hangover) and I don’t even have a negative outlook on dating.  News flash:  Just because you’re in your 20’s and single doesn’t mean you’re unhappy.

lean_in

10.  Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg- My aunt really wants me to read this.  She says it’s extremely inspirational and I’ll love it.  I’m sure it is, but I haven’t had time to read it . . .yet.

Will I actually read all of these?  Maybe one day, but not by the end of 2014.  There are far too many books and not enough time for me to read them all.

4 Comments

  1. World War Z is so much more, so much greater than what the movie did to it. If you love zombies, I really have to jump on the recommend train for that book. It’s harrowing and sticks with you for a long time. Fangirl is on my TBR list, but I keep getting distracted by other things.

    My TTT

    • Good to know that I’m not the only one that keeps skipping over Fangirl. And I’ll definitely be giving World War Z a chance at some point. Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

  2. Gotta agree with Raindrops and Pages, World War Z is good, as long as you can get into the format of it. Way DIFFERENT than what Hollywood did. Really, if it’s a zombie book that even I liked, then it’s got to be good, right? Lol

    • The only reason it’s still on my to-read list is because I remembered that you actually liked it. I always figure if someone likes a book in a genre they don’t normally care for it’ll be an interesting read.

Leave a Reply

