Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Guest Review: Zac and Mia by A.J. Betts

gues-revew-meme*Guest Review by Kelsey

Plot Summary:

“When I was little I believed in Jesus and Santa, spontaneous combustion, and the Loch Ness monster. Now I believe in science, statistics, and antibiotics.” So says seventeen-year-old Zac Meier during a long, grueling leukemia treatment in Perth, Australia. A loud blast of Lady Gaga alerts him to the presence of Mia, the angry, not-at-all-stoic cancer patient in the room next door. Once released, the two near-strangers can’t forget each other, even as they desperately try to resume normal lives. The story of their mysterious connection drives this unflinchingly tough, tender novel told in two voices.

Book Review:

I received a copy of this book from Netgalley for an honest review.

I did not enjoy this book at all. I found Zac to be endearing and was rooting for him throughout the book. I did not like Mia at all. She was a complete bitch and only cared about herself.

Honestly, I didn’t even finish this book and I rarely leave a book unfinished. I could not get through Mia’s portions and found them to be a struggle. She was just so vain and self-centered that I could not relate or even have sympathy for her situation.

I would not recommend this book to anyone. I’m quite certain there are better books about teens dealing with cancer than this one.

1 out of 5 stars (It was so bad I couldn’t finish it)

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon or Barnes & Noble

zac_and_mia

Leave a Reply

