Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books I Really Want to Read But Don’t Own Yet

toptentuesdayThis week’s Top Ten Tuesday blogging challenge from The Broke and the Bookish is a surprisingly tough one.  It really forced me to think about the books that I don’t own and that I do actually want to read.  I’ve read so much lately that sometimes I forget there are still hundreds of books out there that I want to read.  So here’s what I haven’t indulged in buying…yet.

Top 10 Book I Really Want to Read But Don’t Own Yet

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1.  Control by Lydia Kang – I read an excerpt of this book before it was released.  That was a mistake on my part because then I was pissed that I couldn’t continue reading the whole thing.  It’s out now and I just haven’t gotten around to buying it yet.

2.  Writing on the Wall by Tracey Ward – It’s the next zombie series and I’m dying to read it.  Enough said.

3.  The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood – I know this book is a big deal.  A lot of people had to read it for school and liked it.  I didn’t have to and haven’t remembered to pick it up when I’m on my book buying binges.

4.  The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver – I almost had a copy of this book a few months ago.  I was reaching for it at the library and some lady actually pushed my hand down and grabbed the book.  I’m too much of a pushover to say anything, so I just let her have it.  I suppose I could buy a copy, but I’ve been a bit lazy lately.

5.  Silver Tides by Susan Fodor – This just looks pretty awesome.  It combines two of my favorite genres, young adult and fantasy.  I would buy it for my Nook, but I literally have too many books (it won’t let me download any more).

6.  Taken by Erin Bowman – This whole series looks so good!  I don’t know why I don’t already own these books; I’m going to credit it to amazing self-control.  I probably just randomly think about reading this series when I’m not able to make a reminder for myself (I should do that now).

7.  Angelsong by Hanna Peach – I’ve already read the first two books in this series and they were awesome.  I need to go ahead and finish it, but I keep getting slammed with work, other books and life in general.  I do need to read this and put the cliffhangers to rest though.

8.  The List by Melanie Jacobson – It’s definitely more of a fun, chick lit read.  However, I’m fairly certain I will absolutely love the main character and be able to relate like no other.  Plus, I’ve heard good things about Melanie Jacobson’s writing.

9.  Worst. Person. Ever. by Douglas Coupland – It doesn’t sound like it’s going to be the most upbeat story, but Douglas Coupland’s books are amazing.  He’s one of those authors that makes you take stock of your life and really think.  I like that in a book.

10.  Love and Other Foreign Words by Erin McCahan – This sounds pretty good and it is recommended for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell.  Can’t be too bad if it’s associated with two of the most popular young adult authors right now.

This list just made me realize that I really need to prioritize my reading list and start a list of books that I want to buy.  My dream of an in-house library may someday be possible!

2 Comments

  1. Handmaiden’s Tale was great. I read Poisonwood Bible too, but I can’t imagine pushing someone over it — that sounds like a rather aggressive library where you live! At least people are passionate about their reading, I guess. Great list. Here’s mine.

    • That’s what I figured based on the description, but it’s great to have confirmation of the crazy. Thank you so much for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

