Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Tackle Your TBR Read-A-Thon

Tackle Your TBR Readathon 2014

This is our post announcing our intention to participate (and excel) in the Tackle Your TBR Read-A-Thon hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings!!!  I’m unbelievably excited about this for two significant reasons:

1.  I love reading challenges and tend to be seriously productive.

2.  I haven’t read a single book in a little over 3 weeks.  The only contact I’ve even had with a book in that time frame was when I picked up my nook to move it it out of my way.

So, this is going to be one of two challenges I will be participating in during the month of September to get me out of my very strange no-reading funk.  I should also add a shout-out thank you to BookJunkieKrystal over at Books Are My Thing for posting about this challenge.  I just get all of my information from her blog instead of actually seeking these things out on my own.  It’s much easier that way and conducive to my search-related laziness.

**Feel free to bookmark this page, since our daily updates will just be added here as the read-a-thon progresses.

What is the Tackle Your TBR Read-A-Thon?

The Tackle Your TBR Read-a-thon begins Monday, September 8th and ends Saturday, September 20th. You do not have to be a blogger to sign up.  Just use your Goodreads, Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram, or Tumblr instead (the place you’re going to post updates). You just need to be able to leave a link.  For signing up, you should create a sign-up post and use that as your link (the URL field) you’ll use in the link, which can be found over at Wishful Endings.  You can include any book you read for this read-a-thon.  It can be an audiobook, ebook, physical book, published, ARC, etc.

Reading Goals

Honestly, my goal is to actually read a book.  I really can’t believe I’ve gone so long without cracking the spine on a single book.  I really thought I would die if I ever went a significant amount of time without reading.  Apparently I don’t need to worry about that ridiculous cause of death.

On a more serious note, I’d like to get back to my normal 2 books/week and since this spans 2 weeks, that’ll be 4 books (that’s right, I can do simple addition).  I’ll tack on another 3 books and make it a goal of 7 books read for this challenge.  I want to challenge myself, but ultimately I want to get out of whatever funk I’ve stumbled into.

Updates:

Monday, September 8
What I read today:  Hereafter by Samuel Peralta
Today’s finished books:  Hereafter by Samuel Peralta
Total number of finished books:  1
Titles of finished books:  Hereafter by Samuel Peralta

Tuesday, September 9
What I read today:  Alaska Bound:  One Man’s Dream, One Woman’s Nightmare by Tammy Jones & The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels

Today’s finished books:  None
Total number of finished books:  1
Titles of finished books:  Hereafter by Samuel Peralta

Wednesday, September 10
What I read today:  The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels
Today’s finished books: None
Total number of finished books:  1
Titles of finished books:  Hereafter by Samuel Peralta

Thursday, September 11
What I read today:  The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels
Today’s finished books:  The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels
Total number of finished books:  2
Titles of finished books:

  • Hereafter by Samuel Peralta
  • The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels

Friday, September 12
What I read today:  Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
Today’s finished books:  None
Total number of finished books:  2
Titles of finished books:

  • Hereafter by Samuel Peralta
  • The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels

Saturday, September 13
What I read today:  None (I suck)
Today’s finished books:  None
Total number of finished books:  2
Titles of finished books:

  • Hereafter by Samuel Peralta
  • The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels

Sunday, September 14
What I read today:  None… again
Today’s finished books:  None
Total number of finished books:  2
Titles of finished books:

  • Hereafter by Samuel Peralta
  • The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels

Monday, September 15
What I read today:  Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
Today’s finished books:  None
Total number of finished books:  2
Titles of finished books:

  • Hereafter by Samuel Peralta
  • The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels

Tuesday, September 16
What I read today:  Brave New World by Aldous Huxley, Trauma Room by Samuel Peralta, Crow:  Episode One by Alex Owens, Lesser Darkness by Aaron Polson, The Last Rail-Rider by Jason Gurley
Today’s finished books:  Trauma Room by Samuel Peralta, Crow:  Episode One by Alex Owens & The Last Rail-Rider by Jason Gurley
Total number of finished books:  5
Titles of finished books:

  • Crow:  Episode One by Alex Owens
  • Hereafter by Samuel Peralta
  • The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels
  • The Last Rail-Rider by Jason Gurley
  • Trauma Room by Samuel Peralta

Wednesday, September 17
What I read today:  The Gift by James Patterson, Peter:  The Untold True Story by Christopher Mechling
Today’s finished books: None
Total number of finished books:  5
Titles of finished books:

  • Crow:  Episode One by Alex Owens
  • Hereafter by Samuel Peralta
  • The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels
  • The Last Rail-Rider by Jason Gurley
  • Trauma Room by Samuel Peralta

Thursday, September 18
What I read today:  Brave New World by Aldous Huxley, Clipped Wings by Helena Hunting and The Girl with All the Gifts by M. R. Carey
Today’s finished books:  None
Total number of finished books:  5
Titles of finished books:

  • Crow:  Episode One by Alex Owens
  • Hereafter by Samuel Peralta
  • The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels
  • The Last Rail-Rider by Jason Gurley
  • Trauma Room by Samuel Peralta

Friday, September 19
What I read today:  The Girl with All the Gifts by M. R. Carey
Today’s finished books:  None
Total number of finished books:  5
Titles of finished books:

  • Crow:  Episode One by Alex Owens
  • Hereafter by Samuel Peralta
  • The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels
  • The Last Rail-Rider by Jason Gurley
  • Trauma Room by Samuel Peralta

Saturday, September 20
What I read today:  Bossypants by Tina Fey, Brave New World by Aldous Huxley & The Girl with All the Gifts by M. R. Carey
Today’s finished books:  Bossypants by Tina Fey, Brave New World by Aldous Huxley & The Girl with All the Gifts by M. R. Carey
Total number of finished books:  8
Titles of finished books:

  • Bossypants by Tina Fey
  • Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
  • Crow:  Episode One by Alex Owens
  • Hereafter by Samuel Peralta
  • The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels
  • The Girl with All the Gifts by M. R. Carey
  • The Last Rail-Rider by Jason Gurley
  • Trauma Room by Samuel Peralta
13 Comments

  1. LOL! Thanks for the shout-out, and happy to hear someone else is going to do it. I’ve still got to figure out what my goals will be.

    Also, assuming you get out of your reading funk, would you be interested in a 2 or 3 day Review-A-Thon? There have been a ton of readathon’s going on lately, and I know myself and a few other people are way behind on reviews because of it. I was thinking about putting something together if there is enough interest!

    • I’m determined to get out of it and I would definitely be interested in a review-a-thon. That’s actually a really great idea. As long as it’s after the read-a-thon, I’m in. Thanks for thinking of setting something like that up.

  2. I hope you get out of your funk and this encourages you to do so. Thanks for participating – hope you have a great first day!!

  3. I hope you’ll be able to get out of your funk!! I did a few RaT and challenges lately so I was burned out for a week before this one, but I’m ready to go again! 🙂 Good luck to you! Here’s my Sign up Post.

    • I’m slowly (like molasses) working my way out of that funk. Good luck to you too with another Read-a-Thon!

  4. Best of luck getting out of that funk! It looks like you’re off to a great start. Way to go!

    • Thank you! I think I’m out. Now it’s just a matter of not regressing. 🙂

  5. I hope this read-a-thon is helping you get out of your reading slump!

    • I finished 3 books yesterday, so I’m going to go ahead and say that the slump is over! 😀 What a relief.

  6. Phew! You got some good reading in today! Good for you!! There are a couple more days, so I’m curious to see what else you can fit in. 🙂

    • Well considering we’re in week 2, it’s about time I got my butt in gear. I’m thinking the slump may be over. 😀

  7. Yay! You made your goal!!! I hope you’re back to reading on a regular basis now – or at least a book a week. 🙂

    • All back to normal, thanks to Tackle Your TBR!

Leave a Reply

