Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Book Characters That Would Be Sitting at My Lunch Table

toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday from The Broke and the Bookish is a back to school theme.  Initially I may have turned my nose up at it, a little.  Frankly, I just got out of school and wasn’t exactly keen to start thinking back on it.  Then I pulled the stick out of my butt and had some fun with it.  I started this list with serious intent and was at first thinking of the people I actually would’ve eaten lunch with, but then it started to go more and more fictional.  There may just be a few people that I want to share a table with.  So, here are my picks for the. . .

Top 10 Book Characters That Would Be Sitting at My Lunch Table

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1.  Tris from Divergent by Veronica Roth:  I’m finally reading Divergent and her character is fresh in my mind.  She’s badass, but doesn’t seem to need to be the center of attention (which I like).  I think we’d get along.

2. and 3.  Sophie and Kai from The Blooming Goddess trilogy by Tellulah Darling:  They would probably be one of the most entertaining couples to have at a lunch table.  I wouldn’t need any drama from elsewhere because they’d have a lifetime supply.  Bonus – if the school were attacked, Red Dawn style, it would be good to have a God and Goddess on my side.

4.  Hagrid from The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling:  He would be awesome!  You know he’d always have a great story and he may get a little tipsy, which would really make him even more hilarious.

5.  Cath Avery from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell:  She’s so outwardly awkward that I feel like I could relate to her.  Granted I don’t seem as bad, but on the inside I’m cringing and counting the seconds until I can get out of most social situations.  And I’m sure Cath would have a few book recommendations (hopefully other than Simon Snow).

6.  Park from Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell:  As much as I didn’t like the book, I do think Park would be a great tablemate.  He’s also got a ton of comic books and if I decided I might want to try reading comic books, he’d be an excellent source.

7.  Neville Longbottom from The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling:  He’s fantastic and you know he would be a loyal friend.  So, Neville will always have a place at my lunch table.

8. and 9.  Katniss Everdeen and Gale Hawthorne from The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins:  I think they’d make an interesting addition to the table.  I’m curious how they would interact with the other characters.  If nothing else, I could talk to them about outdoorsy things and maybe make plans to go hunting.

10.  Josie McMaster from The McMaster the Disaster trilogy by Rachel Astor:  I’m fairly certain she would have everyone laughing hysterically and a few people might even pee themselves.  If all else fails, she can be my clumsy buddy and we’ll just have mega-fail moments together.  It’s always funnier when you’ve got someone to share it with (as opposed to the psychotic laugh that comes out of me when I don’t know the people around me and I fall or trip).

I was taking it seriously, but this list took a few fictional turns and I’m not really sure how that happened.  Oh well, I can have ridiculous things happen at my lunch table because they’re fictional characters anyway.  It really took on a life of its own.

4 Comments

  1. Nice. Thanks for the top ten list for back to school. Note to self: I’m on Senior Year No. 2 and don’t worry, I got one more year left.

    • Hahaha. I definitely understand the multiple senior years. Thank you for stopping by. 😀

  2. Inge @ Bookshelf Reflections

    I think Tris would be amazing to have at your lunch table. As you know, I approve of Hagrid and Neville, because they’re amazing. I could also really relate to Cath. I’ve recently read Fangirl and it was amazing how much we are alike. I’m not AS awkward, but I’m pretty close. :o) Great list!

Leave a Reply

