Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Divergent (Rated PG-13)

Starring:  Shailene Woodley, Theo James, Kate Winslet, Ashley Judd, Jai Courtney, Ray Stevenson, Zoe Kravitz, Ansel Elgort, and Miles Teller

Directed by:  Neil Burger

Synopsis:  In a world divided by factions based on virtues, Tris learns she’s Divergent and won’t fit in. When she discovers a plot to destroy Divergents, Tris and the mysterious Four must find out what makes Divergents dangerous before it’s too late.

My Thoughts:  Normally I’m the person that has to read the book before seeing the movie.  It’s just the way my mind works and it’s worked out well for me.  I definitely have stood by the age-old, “the book is better.”  I broke my own rules with Divergent.  I’ve been in a wicked reading funk for about a month now and I wanted to see if the movie was any good.

So, I rented it through Redbox and watched it on the couch with my dog curled up next to me.  Then I became obsessed.  I’m not using that word lightly either.  I ended up returning it to Redbox and re-renting it about 5 minutes later.  Then I went on Amazon and bought it.  I have watched this movie about 5 different times in a four-day span.  I even convinced my parents to watch it and they liked it.

The acting was pretty good.  In fairness though, I usually have pretty low expectations for movies based on books (especially if they’re dystopian).  Shailene Woodley and Theo James have some pretty awesome chemistry as Tris and Four.  I will admit that it was a little like watching a reunion between Woodley and her former co-stars.  Miles Teller played a great/annoying antagonist as Peter (he starred opposite Woodley in The Spectacular Now).  Ansel Elgort was a pretty awesome big brother, Caleb (he starred opposite Woodley in The Fault in Our Stars).  It took a minute for me to adjust to Elgort and Woodley as brother/sister, since they just recently played a very believable couple in The Fault in Our Stars.

The scenes and special effects were incredible.  I suppose my expectations were a tad higher here, since the Hunger Games manages special effects like they’re child’s play.  If you really know your architecture, I’m sure you could nit-pick your way through the movie.  I don’t, so I just enjoyed everything served up to me on the silver screen.

I know what you’re thinking; there’s no way she liked Divergent.  Well, as it happens I absolutely loved it.  Granted, I did NOT read the book first, the movie was still spectacularly awesome!  I would highly recommend Divergent.

5 out of 5 Popcorn Buckets = I loved it so much that it finally got me out of my reading funk and made me want to read the book.

Interested in buying this movie?  DVD or Instant Video

divergent_movie

2 Comments

  1. Hey, I read the book AND still liked the movie. So THERE! Haha

    • Good, that means there’s hope for me with the book. So far it’s pretty good, but I’m still pretty close to the beginning. I haven’t hit that point where you can’t put the book down yet.

Leave a Reply

