Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Underrated Authors and Books in the Sci-Fi/Fantasy Genre

toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday post is brought to you thanks to The Broke and the Bookish, hosting as always.  One of my all-time favorite genres is fantasy.  Always has been, always will be.  Heck, the fantasy genre gave us Harry Potter, Twilight, Sookie Stackhouse, hobbits, Game of Thrones, and more.  Fantasy has become extremely popular and a lot of it has to do with the fact that when you find a good book/author, you can transport yourself into that world and forget your own problems for a little while.  This list is such a great way to shine a light on some of the books and authors within the genre that deserve some of that spotlight.  So here is my list for the. . .

Top 10 Underrated Authors and Books in the Sci-Fi/Fantasy Genre

challenge_sept9

1.  The Forever Watch by David Ramirez – This book is actually more sci-fi than fantasy, but I tend to blend the two genres into my own little mishmash genre.  The world that Ramirez creates is complicated, but so detailed and intricate (worth it!).  I didn’t want it to end.

2.  Open Minds by Susan Kaye Quinn – So this book was really unique for its genre.  I really liked it, but I still haven’t read book 2.  I started the audiobook, but I think I got distracted and then forgot about.  Dang, these lists are really helping me realize my memory sucks and I may have a mild case of A.D.D.

3.  Finding Me by Dawn Brazil – I tend to get sucked into books about “super heroes” (i.e. ordinary people who end up with extraordinary gifts/abilities).  I think this happens because I desperately want this to happen to me in some way.  And now I’ll spend the next hour daydreaming about having super powers.

4.  Beasts and Maidens by M. E. Timmons – I was obsessed with this book from the moment I started reading it.  This was a freebie for my nook and I couldn’t believe that a free book could be this awesome.  From there I started my love affair with free books; it can be a bit of an emotional roller coaster some days, but it’s totally worth it.

5.  Shock Me by Ashley C. Harris – This book I simultaneously loved and hated.  Loved it because it was great (another story about ordinary to extraordinary) and hated it because I had to read the next book asap and it wasn’t/isn’t out yet.  I think book 2 actually comes out this month.  I need to go check on that, now that I’m thinking about it.

6.  Jeaniene Frost (Night Huntress series) – When I first started this series I think I read the first 5 books in about 4 days.  I need to pick it back up, but I haven’t yet.  I’m surprised she’s not a more well-known author, but I suppose this brand of fantasy is considered to be more adult.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

7.  Mark Lein (The Seeker’s Burden series) – I’m actually pretty obsessed with this series right now.  I’m not sure if it’s the lack of a love story, the brutal nature of certain characters, or the intricacy of the world created but I love it.  I can’t believe more people have yet to discover Mark Lein.  You can actually read my review of An Emerging Threat and be on the lookout for my review of Path of Darkness.

ml

8.  Rusty Fischer – He writes a lot of zombie fiction and it’s simply amazing.  Everything I’ve read by him has been a short story, but one of the most amazing things is that ALL of his work is available for free.  You don’t have to be a blogger or book reviewer for this either.  Just type his name in at Barnes & Noble.com and go crazy picking out books (I did)!

rf

9.  Zoe Winters (Preternaturals series) – I was crazy obsessed with this series when I found it.  I’m talking non-stop read-a-thon type obsession (i.e. reading in the bathroom, reading while cooking, sleeping for 2-3 hours maximum, if at all).  And while I was writing this I happened to search Goodreads just to make sure I was still caught up and realized there’s a book 5!  Great, now I’ll have to go buy that and get reading.

perf5.500x8.500.indd

10.  Molly Harper – I’ve actually read multiple series (Jane Jameson and Naked Werewolf) by this author and they were all excellent.  I got really into her writing when I first moved out of my college dorm and into my own place (roommate free!).  She also has a few other series and some stand-alone novels.  In an ideal world, I’ll give everything she’s written (fantasy or not) a try.

Molly White

So there you have it.  Here’s a nicely compiled list of books and authors that you should try.  You never know, you could find your new favorite!

6 Comments

  1. I haven’t read any of these but The Forever Watch looks awesome! I do the same thing with sci-fi/fantasy books. Thanks for sharing!

    Here are my Top Ten!

    • Thank you for stopping by! I hope you end up checking out The Forever Watch! 🙂

  2. I have Open Minds in my possession. I’ve had it for a while and just haven’t picked it up yet. You’ve made me want to push it closer to the top of my TBR list. Nice picks this week!

    TTT
    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

    • Thank you! It’s definitely worth moving up on your TBR.

  3. readerbuzz

    All new-to-me! Thank you.

    • Hopefully that means you’ll find something you love!

Leave a Reply

