Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Hereafter

by Samuel Peralta

Overview (from Goodreads.com):  Cpl. Caitlyn McAdams returns home from war, back to her family and the life she knew—but she doesn’t return whole. How can she forget the man she left behind—a man she’d met only once before—a casualty of a roadside bomb, dying in front of her? And then, one day, he comes back.

Full Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

My Thoughts:  Love through time travel seems like it would be a b**ch (excuse my language).  I don’t think I could do it.  Either you’re the one that’s constantly gone heaping the pain of absence on someone you love or you’re the one left in one time.  It sounds like an emotional pain in the butt that I’m ultimately too selfish to endure.

Hereafter is a short novella about time travel and love, obviously.  I’m a sucker for most time-travel related things because I watch Doctor Who like it’s water and I’m dehydrated.  I really liked the twist on time-travelling rules in Hereafter (don’t worry; I won’t give it away).  It was original and made me really think about the characters’ determination and obvious love for one another.

The chemistry between Caitlyn and Sean was okay.  The story was just so short that there was a lot of time to build the relationship.  It was kind of a bare bones version of their story that could be used as an introduction or prequel to a full novel (or a detailed outline).  I loved the ideas brought forth in Hereafter and the potential for a truly great story.

I really enjoyed reading Hereafter.  The end was beautifully written and I may have teared up a little (major credit to the author here).  So I did really like it, but I thought it needed to be longer with more character development.  Personally, I will be on the lookout for more by this author.  I would recommend Hereafter and it won’t take you long at all to read.

3.5 out of 5 Bookmarks = It was good, I just wish it were longer.

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon

hereafter

 

5 Comments

  1. Follow my Blog? I so reviews on Rock n Roll Autobiographies….. and more

    therealrene.wordpress.com

  2. Ahhhhh, I didn’t know you were a Doctor Who fan!!! Did you know that there is a published fan fiction series out there? I recently received a book for review… I can’t wait to read it!

    • I didn’t know that! What’s the series called???

      • The book I received was part of the Doctor Who New Series Adventures… I recall seeing one at the library as well, but I’m not sure if it was the same series.

      • Now I’m going to have to look that up! I didn’t know those were out there. Thank you for telling me about them! 😀

Leave a Reply

