Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

The Other Woman (Rated PG-13)

Starring:  Cameron Diaz, Leslie Mann and Kate Upton

Directed by:  Nick Cassavetes

Synopsis:  After discovering her boyfriend is married, Carly soon meets the wife he’s been betraying. And when yet another love affair is discovered, all three women team up to plot revenge on the three-timing S.O.B.

My Thoughts:  I heard so many good things about The Other Woman that I decided to ignore my instincts and see it.  I figured I wouldn’t like it… at all.  I don’t find cheating in a relationship funny or entertaining.  I tried to think of a movie or tv show that showed this and I liked, but I came up blank.  Next time, I need to listen to myself instead of other people.

Kate (Leslie Mann) was probably the most annoying person you could possibly be in a movie.  I found myself hoping that Carly (Cameron Diaz) would go crazy and beat the crap out of her.  Turns out that Kate Upton is a better actress than I thought she would be (it still wasn’t a good movie though).  The chemistry between the 3 women was okay.  It was interesting to see such different personalities and how the interacted and changed each other, but I don’t generally watch a “comedy” for anthropological reasons.

Carly was probably the most relatable character for me.  Cameron Diaz did a great job being the level-headed, “get over it and move one” woman in the group.  That’s probably why I wanted to see her smack some sense into Leslie Mann’s character.  A lot of it comes down to the fact that I genuinely don’t understand the mindset of someone staying in a relationship like this or really any relationship where you’re being treated like less than an equal partner (but at least I admit that I don’t get it).

The writing was fine, until the end.  At the end of the movie, the storyline and dialogue became absolutely ridiculous.  I was sitting there thinking, “WTF did I just waste my time watching?”  I did not find The Other Woman anywhere near funny enough to be labelled a comedy.  I think I understand where they were trying to go with the movie, but they never hit the mark for comedy gold.  All of the jokes just fell flat.

Overall, I didn’t like The Other Woman and I would not recommend it (unless you love movies like Get Him to the Greek, This is 40 and 21 Jumpstreet).

2.75 out of 5 Popcorn Buckets = I did not like it, but I did laugh a few times.

Interested in buying this movie?  DVD or Instant Video

the_other_woman

Leave a Reply

