Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From But NEED to Read More

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly book meme, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Every week is a new topic and it’s always a little bit exciting to head over there and check out the next week’s topic (or when I’m really lazy I check it Tuesday morning).  This week’s topic is the:

Top 10 Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From But NEED to Read More

I always need to read more books.  Generally speaking if I read a book I like and it’s the first I’ve read by that author, I buy another one.  It almost always takes me forever to get to that second book, but I buy it.  Although there are those authors that I buy a bunch of their books at once without ever having read anything by them (i.e. John Green – definitely bought 3 or 4 of his books before reading one).

new_adventures

So check out my TBC (To Be Continued) Author list below and who knows, maybe you’ll discover an author that you think is worth trying out!

1.  Hanna Peach (Angelfire) – I actually have books 2 and 3 on my nook and ready to go.  Plus, book 1 kind of ended on a bit of a cliffhanger, so I need to get my butt in gear and get reading.

2.  Mark Lein (An Emerging Threat) – The first one surprised me with how awesome it was and I have the second one.  I’m not sure if this one really counts because I was planning to read book 2 within the next few weeks.

3.  John Green (The Fault in Our Stars) – I own multiple John Green books and liked the first one that I read.  I also really liked the movie.  I don’t know why I haven’t picked up another one of his books yet.  I’d say it’s because I’m busy, but I think it might be laziness.

4.  Sarah Dessen (The Truth About Forever) – I really liked my first Sarah Dessen book and just haven’t found the time to read another one.  I don’t own any others, but I did pick one up from the library (then returned it without reading it).  I don’t know what my problem is.  Side note:  This was actually one of my very first reviews.

5.  David Ramirez (The Forever Watch) – This is a special case.  I desperately want to read more by this author, but The Forever Watch is currently his only book.  So I really need him to write another book as soon as humanly possible.

6.  Ashley C. Harris (Shock Me) – The second book in this series actually comes out at the end of this month.  So this isn’t a case of me slacking, I just added it so that I don’t forget to get book 2 and read it.

7.  Dawn Brazil (Finding Me) – This series is about superheroes and is yet another one that I mostly put on this list as a reminder for myself.  Sometimes I make lists of the books I’m reading, want to read and other categories; then I promptly lose or forget about the list.  I can’t lose or forget about my blog though.

8.  James Patterson (Witch & Wizard) – I know this is probably shocking that I’ve only read 1 book by one of the biggest authors today, but I just wasn’t that into what he had to offer for the longest time.  And the book I read is actually part of a series, so I should probably go about finishing that (especially since I already own book 2).

9.  Terri Reid (Loose Ends) – When I originally looked at this series, I bought books 1-4 and then only read book 1.  I was a great read and fairly quick, if memory serves me right.  I may need to go back and re-read book 1, instead of depending on a memory from 2+ years ago.

10.  Dan Wells (Partials) – I really liked Partials and I had the second book all ready to go.  Then I just lost interest and I’m still not sure why.  I’m thinking I may have overloaded myself on young adult, specifically dystopian fiction because there was nothing wrong with the writing and subject matter.  In fact, this series is normally right up my alley.

I need to get reading on a lot of these books, because I just realized they would be perfect reads for my September is for Sequels reading challenge.  Note to self:  Stop procrastinating and get your read on!

read_a_book

13 Comments

  1. I have so many Sarah Dessen books on my TBR list, I need to get around to them as soon as I can, but I’m not sure where to start 😀 And I have Partials sitting on my bookcase waiting to be read. Glad to hear you liked the book!

    And best of luck with the September for Sequels challenge! I’ve signed up, and it’s going…Ok. I chose to read and review the minimum of 4 books – I knew this month would be a bit crazy with non-bloggy things, so didn’t want to sign up for more than that! Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier, have a great week!

    • I need to get back into the Partials trilogy because that would be perfect for this month, but I’m not really into it at the moment. My sequels challenge probably isn’t going any better than yours. In fact I’ve only read 1 sequel to date (that’s kind of depressing to realize that). I think you’ll really enjoy Dessen, but I can only recommend The Truth About Forever. It’s a solid book to start with. I hope you have a great week too and good luck with September is for Sequels! 🙂

  2. Bonnie @ For the Love of Words

    The Fault in Our Stars is the only Green I’ve read too. I’ve been told that his books are quite similar so I made the effort to space his reads apart. 🙂
    I haven’t read any Dessen which I totally planned on doing for some summer reads but oh look, it’s September almost October. lol Whoops.
    Thanks so much for stopping by!

    • I heard the same thing about his books and I’m hoping I was subconsciously making the same decision you made. You’ll probably like Dessen when you get around to her, but I definitely understand time getting away from you. I can only recommend the one book I’ve read by her, but it was good. 🙂

  3. I always meant to read Witch & Wizard but never got around to it. Sometimes it takes my a long time to read the second book in a series to.
    My TTT

    • Yeah, if I don’t read it right away I’m seriously slow with picking a series up a second time. Thank you for stopping by!

  4. How did I forget James Patterson!! I too have only read Witch and Wizard, despite finding the 2nd book at a used book sale. The fiance loves Patterson’s Alex Cross series and has been working his way through them, but I sort of feel the same way as you do about most of his books.

    • Thank goodness you’re around to validate me on these things. I always think I’m a weirdo for my book choices and then you agree with me and I figure it’s no big deal if someone else is in the same boat. It’s kind of funny that we both read W&W and bought book 2, but haven’t read it.

  5. Oh yes, you must read more John Green. Paper Towns is my favorite (though I am bias because it takes place in Orlando). Enjoy your time with those books. I would love to be able to read them for the first time again.

    • I’m looking forward to reading them. I have Paper Towns and Looking for Alaska just hanging out on my TBR bookshelf. You’re definitely right about enjoying a book for the first time (it’s such a great feeling). Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

  6. I’m in the same boat with John Green, I don’t know why I haven’t read more of his books yet! Glad to hear you liked the movie TFIOS, I haven’t seen it yet. 🙂

    • You’ll like the movie when you see it, but make sure you have some tissues nearby.

  7. Carmen Brack

    The only author on this list that I’ve read is John Green, but I haven’t been able to bring myself to read The Fault in Our Stars. I can recommend Papertowns though!
    I really want to read Partials though 🙂
    Thansk for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

