Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Treat Yo Self Thursday – September 18, 2014

treat-yo-self-thursday1

At No Money 4 Books, they have a weekly meme going for Treat Yo Self Thursday.  It’s based off of Parks and Recreation and I love getting ideas from what Ali buys.  As my regular readers know, when I buy, I binge buy.  Well, I went nuts last night and I think you guys will be both impressed and disturbed by the quantity of what I bought.  It may actually be certifiable, but I don’t really care.  I love books and have close to no self-control around them.

Some of the books came from a used bookstore that I walk by everyday when I’m leaving the metro station, but I hadn’t stopped in until yesterday.  The deals were pretty good, especially considering the condition of the books was better than expected.

My major source (for 20 books) was online.  I found an online used bookstore called Thrift Books and went overboard.  The shipping was free and when you can find books that you want for as low as $2.99, who wouldn’t go a little book crazy.  Overall, the point is that I lost my very tight hold on my self-control yesterday and now have plenty of material for this week’s Treat Yo Self Thursday.  Check out what I bought below!

 

  • Cell by Stephen King – BookJunkieKrystal, from Books Are My Thing, recommended I give King another chance and read this.  I trust her judgement and will be cracking that baby open any day now.
  • The Restaurant at the End of the Universe by Douglas Adams – It’s the second book in the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series and I figured I should continue.
  • Patient Zero by Jonathan Maberry
  • I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore
  • The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore
  • The Rise of Nine by Pittacus Lore

 

  • The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  • Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl
  • Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl
  • All Families are Psychotic by Douglas Coupland
  • Generation X:  Tales for an Accelerated Culture by Douglas Coupland
  • Snowed In by Rachel Hawthorne
  • The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver
  • Next by Michael Crichton
  • Prey by Michael Crichton
  • Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice
  • The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling
  • Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman
  • The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
  • Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
  • Tropical Kiss by Jan Coffey
  • Lord of the Flies by William Golding
  • And One Last Thing… by Molly Harper
  • The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe – This is based off of an indirect recommendation from BookJunkieKrystal
  • The Poison Eaters and Other Stories by Holly Black
  • Inferno by Dan Brown – I really need to finish The Lost Symbol.

I was all over the map with this binge buying adventure.  I got some books by popular authors that I’ve never read, books I’m ashamed that I haven’t read, and then a bunch that I just wanted.  Now there’s just the matter of deciding where to start.

too_many_books_not

4 Comments

  1. Ermygerd. This is amazing – I am so impressed. Way to treat yourself! 🙂 Also I am going to checkout this Thrift Books thing immediately!

    • It’s definitely worth your time. I think you’ll like Thrift Books a lot. I’m really glad you’re impressed and not completely weirded out. 🙂

  2. I look forward to hearing what you think about Cell!

    • I’m pretty excited about it. It’ll be one of my October reads, without a doubt.

Leave a Reply

