Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books on My Fall TBR (To Be Read) List

toptentuesday

 

This week’s bookish meme, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is a fun/necessary one.  It’s fun for obvious reasons and necessary because ever since I started participating in TTT, this is how I prioritize my reading.  Normally I would list the top 10 books I want to read this fall, but since it’s Banned Books Week I thought I should do something specifically related to that.

Thanks to the Tackle Your TBR Read-a-Thon, we’re out of our massive reading slump and in a way this is a little bit of our celebration.  Look out for our wrap-up post tomorrow!

So, this week’s Top Ten Tuesday list has a bit of a spin to it.  We’re listing the Top 10 Banned Books on Our Fall TBR List.  That’s right folks… we here at Reviews in a Pinch are planning to read 10 banned books this fall!  Check out our TBR list below and why these books are banned.

 Top 10 Books on My Fall TBR (To Be Read) Banned Books List

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1.  The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky – I’ve seen the movie and it made me want to read the book, so now I have a plan to do so.  It’s banned due to drugs, alcohol, smoking, homosexuality, sexually explicit, and it’s unsuited to age group.

2.  Looking for Alaska by John Green – This was actually the very first John Green book that I bought.  I ended up reading The Fault in Our Stars first because the movie was coming out, but now I have to make the time to get to his other books.  It’s banned because of drugs, alcohol, smoking, sexually explicit, and it’s unsuited to age group.

3.  Animal Farm by George Orwell – I enjoyed reading 1984 and have only heard good things about Animal Farm.  Orwell really knows how to suck a reader in and then make their blood boil and want change to take place.

4.  A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess – I have had a strong desire to read this book for as long as I can remember.  I don’t even remember my initial reason, but every book teaches you something new so why not read it?

5.  We All Fall Down by Robert Cormier – Good grief.  This one just looks so good to me.  It’s banned due to offensive language and sexual content.

6.  My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult – I saw the majority of the movie and thought it was pretty good.  Since I generally like the book better, I figure I’ll give it a shot.  It’s banned due to homosexuality, offensive language, religious viewpoint, sexism, sexually explicit, it’s unsuited to age group, and violence.

7.  The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde – Don’t judge me, but I’ve wanted to read this ever since I saw The League of Extraordinary Gentleman.

8.  Lord of the Flies by William Golding –  The only reason I haven’t already read this is because I didn’t own a copy until last night.

9.  The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini – This has been sitting on my TBR shelf for years.  It’s banned due to homosexuality, offensive language, religious viewpoint, and it’s sexually explicit.

10.  The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood – Another book that I’ve wanted to read for a while and just recently acquired.

Honorable Mention has to go to Catch-22 by Joseph Heller.  I use that expression all the time; I should probably read the darn book.

catch-22

What’s on your Fall Reading List?

6 Comments

  1. You got a lot of great books lined up, especially “A Clockwork Orange” and “Animal Farm” which are two of my favorites of all time. I detested Catch-22 though. Good luck with the reading. 🙂

    • Thank you! I’m ridiculously excited about it. 😀

  2. Picture of Dorian Gray is one of my favorites and the Handmaid’s Tale is AWESOME!!
    My TTT
    http://hauntedgravebooks.blogspot.com/2014/09/top-ten-tuesday-tbr-fall-reading-list.html

    • I’m happy and a tad relieved that people really love these books. I’d hate to have a pile of stinkers waiting for me to read them this fall. Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

  3. I just recently read Handmaid’s Tale and I really enjoyed it. I haven’t read Animal Farm or Lord of the Flies in years but love both of them, great choices! I can’t remember any homosexuality (or sexuality, period) in My Sister’s Keeper but it’s been at least a couple years since I read that. I know I really liked it though! My favorites of hers are The Pact, Nineteen Minutes, and Handle with Care (alllllll the tears! Augh!) but My Sister’s Keeper is up there too! Very chilling concept. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog today! Your comment made my day. 🙂

  4. STAY AWAY FROM CATCH-22…. No, go ahead and read it if you’d like. That book was just the bane of my existence for MONTHS before I finally gave up. This was before blogging, which means I pretty much *almost* never gave up on a book. You’ve got some good ones here though!

Leave a Reply

