Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Tackle Your TBR Read-a-Thon Wrap Up

Tackle Your TBR Readathon 2014

 

The Tackle Your TBR Read-a-Thon, hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings, ended on Saturday.  Some of you may have been following my progress via the sign-up post, where I was pretty darn good about remembering to update.  If you’re a regular reader, you know that I was in a fairly significant reading slump.  So my main reason for participating in the Read-a-Thon was to basically force myself out of it.  I know you want the results, so without further ado, here’s how I did vs. what I challenged myself to do.

My ultimate goal was to actually read a book, especially since it had been about a month and a half since I’d picked one up.  Then I decided to put a little pressure on myself and said I wanted to read 7 books for the Read-a-Thon.  I ended up reading 8 books!

The books I finished and you will see reviews for very soon (links go to the already published review):

  • Bossypants by Tina Fey
  • Brave New World by Aldous Huxley  *Guest Review at Books Are My Thing for Banned Books Week
  • Crow:  Episode One by Alex Owens
  • Hereafter by Samuel Peralta
  • The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels
  • The Girl with All the Gifts by M. R. Carey
  • The Last Rail-Rider by Jason Gurley
  • Trauma Room by Samuel Peralta

The books I started, but haven’t finished yet:

  • Alaska Bound:  One Man’s Dream, One Woman’s Nightmare by Tammy Jones
  • Clipped Wings by Helena Hunting
  • Lesser Darkness by Aaron Polson
  • Peter:  The Untold True Story by Christopher Mechling
  • The Gift by James Patterson

I have to pat myself on the back and toot my own horn.  I was pretty worried that I wouldn’t actually read anything, but (hello!) I was wrong.  Since I’m back to my normal book nerd self, I feel like I owe two people a pretty big thank you.

  • BookJunkieKrystal at Books Are My Thing since she brought this Read-a-Thon to my attention.
  • Tressa at Wishful Endings because she hosted the entire Read-a-Thon and regularly checked in with encouraging words.

Now I’m seriously considering do some sort of Read-a-Thon.  I just have to think of a theme and name.  Then I’ll be in business.  I orginally thought December because then it could be holiday themed, but I decided that was dumb (and a little too easy) and I could do better.  Plus, I’m pretty sure my family would like me to socialize and not have my nose in a book.  Stay tuned for more on this little engine of a project!

And CONGRATS to everyone that participated in the Tackle Your TBR Read-a-Thon!

1 Comment

  1. WOW, way to go!!

Leave a Reply

