Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Interview: Mario Saincic

1.  Where did you get the inspiration for your latest novel, My African Dream?

A:  A friend, stuck in her bubble called life, shared how she wanted to ‘walk free’ amongst the beautiful animals of Africa. She’d watch them on a webcam for hours, making a list of questions she wanted to ask me as I had experienced it for real. And as I heard her responses, it made me smile. During this time one of her questions was the difference between the white and black rhino, and soon we got chatting about the brutal act of rhino poaching and how people lined their pockets while these beautiful creatures got closer to being totally wiped out. As I relayed the statistics to her, I felt a stronger urge than ever before to do something to create awareness. Seeing as, at the time, I had no financial means to help support organizations working to combat rhino poaching, a revelation hit me and I started writing. I have words, words that form sentences which eventually become a book. I decided there and then that this is what I HAD TO DO…write. During the research and developing the story and characters, I was moved in a way that I thought was not possible. That is why, when it was done, I decided to pledge half of my proceeds from the book to rhino conservation.

2.  Do you have a message that you are trying to convey when you’re writing a story?

A:  My characters are real, and in writing them I try to carry a message across that can relate to every single one of us. I am a romantic (incurable) and always try to look at the bright side of every situation. The message carried in my previous two books is one of hope: a HEA that is in front of us if we are only willing to open our eyes.

3.  Do you have any favorite authors?

A:  I do. Although I write romance, I generally don’t read it as I find most of it unrealistic. My favorite author is Koontz. Indie and self-published authors are completely underrated and quite a few I have read recently have totally blown me away. Kristine Cayne is one such author. Her writing is smooth and refreshing, and keeps me hooked all the way through.

4.  What challenges have you had, in regards to your writing life?

A:  Convincing myself that I am a writer, and that the words I roll out are actually good.

5.  What has been the best compliment?

A:  Every single review I get, whether good or bad, is a compliment. It means that the person actually took the time to read my work, and then later took more time to tell me what they thought.

6.  If your book became a movie, who would you cast?

A:  As James I would cast Arnold Vosloo, a South African actor that has had international exposure. His accent might not suit the role but his blood is African and he would pour his heart into it. Milly would probably be Scarlett Johansson purely because of her down to earth cockiness. After watching ‘We Bought a Zoo,’ she would be my first choice.

7.  Do you have any advice for other/aspiring writers?

A:  Firstly…stop calling yourself aspiring. A person managing the first few miles of a marathon is called a runner no matter how long they take to finish, and if they don’t finish…they are no less a runner. Secondly…when in doubt over what to do: WRITE!!

8.  Have you ever received a negative review? If so, how did you handle the criticism?

A:  My editor and beta are brutal. Even so, I take the blood-drenched pages they return to me as a blessing. The more feedback a writer can get the better. As far as reviews…I look forward to a bad one.

9.  What is your favorite word?

A:  Bloody.

10.  What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

A:  Cooking and attempting to play a full song on my guitar.

11.  Is there anything you’d like to say to your readers?

A:  Thank you, thank you, and thank you. MWAH!

 

my-african-dream

My African Dream synopsis:  **50% of author proceeds goes to rhino conservation**

My African Dream finds Millicent Cramer in the heart of Kenya, a world she only ever dreamed about. Even her wildest imagination could not prepare her for life on African soil, but what she experiences there changes her life forever. She finds the harsh beauty overwhelming; the people comforting; and even stumbles on love…but the biggest thing she discovers is a purpose for her life – a calling far beyond anything she had experienced before.

You can buy this book now from Amazon.

 

Looking for other books by Mario Saincic?

SeasonsAmazon

Infirmity:  The JourneyAmazon

mario_saincic

About the author:  Mario Saincic was born in 1970, and has a passion for life. Starting off in restaurant kitchens and ending up as an architectural designer, he has managed to turn his creativity into a career. Writing is one such desire, and since the release of Infirmity, there is hardly a day that goes by without characters sitting around discussing their lives with him. “Inspiration appears at the strangest of times, and we need to embrace it.”

His desire in life is to be as perfect an example to his kids as his father is to him.

 

 

**Enter our giveaway for an e-copy of My African Dream now!  Enter here!**

 

Leave a Reply

