Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

R.I.P. IX Reading Challenge

*We know it’s supposed to be Movie Monday, but we just have so much to post between now and October 1 that we decided to use a Monday to help us out.

rip-ix-challenge

Image Credit goes to Abigail Larson @ http://www.abigaillarson.com.

That’s right.  We’re doing another reading challenge!  Hey, since the last two actually panned out and we managed to hop out of that disturbing reading slump, why not do another?  R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril IX is being hosted by Stainless Steel Droppings.

What exactly is R.eaders Imbibing Peril IX?

Read any books within the genres below.

  • Mystery.
  • Suspense.
  • Thriller.
  • Dark Fantasy.
  • Gothic.
  • Horror.
  • Supernatural.
  • Or anything sufficiently moody that shares a kinship with the above.

That is what embodies the stories, written and visual, that we celebrate with the R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril event.

This event has two simple rules:

1. Have fun reading (and watching).
2. Share that fun with others.

There are multiple levels of participation (Perils) that allow you to be a part of R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril without adding the burden of another commitment to your already busy lives. There is even a one book only option for those who feel that this sort of reading is not their cup of tea (or who have too many other commitments) but want to participate all the same.

R.I.P. IX officially runs from September 1st through October 31st.  You do not have to be a blogger to participate.

What level of participation (Peril) are you aiming for?

Hmmm… that’s an interesting question, but easily answered.  We’re going whole hog and aiming for maximum Peril (Peril the First).

peril_the_first_rip_ix

Peril the First:

Read four books, any length, that you feel fit (the very broad definitions) of R.I.P. literature. It could be King or Conan Doyle, Penny or Poe, Chandler or Collins, Lovecraft or Leroux…or anyone in between.

Any particular books in mind for this challenge?

Heck yeah!  My mind was spinning with ideas while I was still reading about the R.I.P. event.  Check out the leaders in contention for my October reads:

  1. Cell by Stephen King – Easiest pick to make.
  2. Evil and the Details by Roy A. Teel Jr.
  3. Two Degrees Closer to Hell by David Fingerman
  4. Lesser Darkness:  Horror Stories by Aaron Polson
  5. Outshine by Nola Decker
  6. Suffer the Children by Craig DiLouie

There may be a few others, but these are currently my top picks.

I am aware that this particular challenge runs through September and October, but I’m signing on for October (Halloween and all).  Frankly, I think this is an amazing challenge for the month of October and fits perfectly.  I may even watch a few episodes of Supernatural to prepare myself properly.

Now its up to you. Do you have the courage to share in a little fright with us? Or, if not fright, a whole lot of fun.

 

7 Comments

  1. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author
    for your weblog. You have some really good articles and I feel
    I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load
    off, I’d really like to write some material for your blog
    in exchange for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an email if interested.
    Regards!

  2. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked
    submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

    • Thank you! That’s happened to me before on other blogs and I didn’t re-write my first comment either. 🙂 Thank you for stopping by!

  3. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having
    a tough time locating it but, I’d like to send you an e-mail.
    I’ve got some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it
    develop over time.

  4. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after
    browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be
    bookmarking and checking back often!

  5. Hey I am so glad I found your blog, I really found you by accident, while
    I was browsing on Digg for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a
    incredible post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have book-marked it
    and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the superb work.

Leave a Reply

