Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books That Were Hard For Me To Read

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a fun weekly link-up in the community where The Broke and the Bookish provides a prompt and other lovers of list making join in on it with their own top ten list. You can have less than 10 or more if you need to at times and put a spin on the topic if you need to! All they ask is that you link back to them if you’re participating.

I love the TTT bookish meme.  I try to participate every week, but some weeks I’m just not into it or I don’t have time to write anything up.  This week I was both into it and I had the time.  I really like this week’s topic because too many people shy away from writing bad reviews of DNFs (Did Not Finish).  The bad reviews and DNFs are just as important as the great reviews we write for the books we love.  So here’s my list for the. . .

Top 10 Books that Were Hard for Me to Read

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1.  The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne – I read this for an English class in high school and it has stuck with me as one of the worst books I’ve ever read.  I think the idea behind the story is a good one, very interesting and in a lot of ways still relevant today (hence Easy A).  Hawthorne’s writing just put me to sleep every time I picked up the book.

2.  Ministry of Bombs by Nelson Lowhim – It’s just not written very well.  I’m not sure if it’s a translation problem or bad editing, but I have yet to finish it.

3.  Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell – I know this is NOT going to be a popular pick for this list, but it’s the truth.  I was really bored throughout the entire book and the only reason I finished it was because almost everyone I know loves Rainbow Rowell.  I haven’t completely written her off though.  I did promise Ali @ No Money 4 Books that I would give Fangirl a fair shot.

4.  Sadie the Sadist by Zane Sachs – This one was too far into the horror genre for me.  I couldn’t handle finishing it and it was my first DNF (Did Not Finish) review.

5.  Forsaking Home by A. American – This was one of those that I finished because I had to.  I got it from First to Read and I’m sure if I’d read the other books in the series, I would’ve loved it.  Alas, I hadn’t read them so reading this was a little bit of a nightmare.

6.  Reeling in the Redneck by Lindsey Brookes – This book actually makes me want to peel my skin off.  It’s written the way a redneck/deep south southern would speak.  The grammatical problems gave me a headache whenever I tried to read it.  I haven’t finished it and probably won’t.

7.  Pillow Stalk by Diane Vallere – This one is a little different.  I don’t have any issues with this book.  The problem for me is that I’ve already read the sequel, That Touch on Ink, to Pillow Stalk and I know what happens.  Reading it is more of a formality to get the details at this point.

8.  Bird of Paradise Drums Beating by Penny Ross – I was extremely bored reading this book.  There was too much information packed in without enough of a story to tie it all together.

9.  Jesus the Christ by James E. Talmage – I needed a dictionary sitting near me while I read this.

10.  Robert B. Parker’s Damned If You Do by Michael Brandman – This is the first in this series, but it made sure that I won’t be picking up any of the others.

They’re not all books that I disliked, just the majority of them are.  What was hard for you to read?

5 Comments

  1. #1 and #3 are the only ones I’ve heard of (and I haven’t read either of them). I know Rainbow Rowell is popular at the moment, but I’ve read certain things about Eleanor & Park in some reviews that have given me pause. I think I might try Fangirl, if I were going to give her books a shot.

    • Fangirl is probably where I should’ve started too. Who knows, you may find a new favorite author. 🙂 Thank you for stopping by.

  2. I actually love reading your negative reviews because they are so funny! On the downside, it means you read a crappy book, and no one deserves that. 😉 I do hope you like Fangirl! It’s great all on its own.

    • I usually try to have some fun with it if it’s a negative review. The authors don’t enjoy the negative reviews very much. :/ But what are you going to do? Not everyone likes the same books. 😀

  3. I actually love reading your negative reviews because they are so funny! On the downside it means you had to read a crappy book, and no one deserves that. 😉 I do hope you like Fangirl! It’s great all on its own.

Leave a Reply

