Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

September is for Sequels Wrap-Up

sequelbooksSeptember is over and it’s time to recap for the September is for Sequels reading challenge.  If you’d like to read our sign-up post, just click here.  The challenge ran from September 1 – 30 and was hosted by Lisa Loves Literature.  As some of you may remember, Mel was in a fairly significant reading slump when we signed up for this challenge (we signed up for 2 different challenges at the same time).

It was a fairly straight-forward challenge.  Read only sequels.  Prequels counted if they were published after the first book in the series.  You had to read at least 4 sequels for the challenge, but we set a goal of 10 (and called it modest – can now say that was a bit too cocky).  Before we go any further with this wrap-up, I want to make it clear that I did NOT come anywhere near my goal of 10 sequels.

What did we end up reading this month?

1.  Crow:  Episode Two by Alex Owens (Crow #2)

2.  Path of Darkness by Mark Lein (The Seeker’s Burden #2)

Wow, that is very underwhelming.  I read a whole 2 sequels this month.  That’s actually a bit embarrassing.

What did we start, but not finish this month?

1.  The Gift by James Patterson (Witch & Wizard #2)

2.  The Horse and His Boy by C. S. Lewis (Chronicles of Narnia #3)

3.  Sadie’s Guide to Catching Killers:  A Sadie Novella by Zane Sachs

Good grief.  Kill me now.  For the record I did actually read other books this month and even started plenty of others.  Apparently I was not paying attention though and quite a few of them either are stand alones or the first book.  I feel like a failure, but at the same time I’m just happy to be out of my reading slump.  Can’t get a much better victory than that, unless I’d actually succeeded in this reading challenge.

On to October’s challenges!

1 Comment

  1. I know, it seemed this September was busier than the past ones. And I had several e-galleys I had to read before they expired, so even though I didn’t meet my goal either, it wasn’t like I didn’t read at all. Thanks so much for participating this year, and I hope maybe you’ll try it again next September!

Leave a Reply

