Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

The Girl with All the Gifts

by M. R. Carey

Overview (from Goodreads):  NOT EVERY GIFT IS A BLESSING

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class.

When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don’t like her. She jokes that she won’t bite. But they don’t laugh.

Melanie is a very special girl.

Emotionally charged and gripping from beginning to end, THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS is the most powerful and affecting thriller you will read this year.

Full Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book from Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review.

My Thoughts:  I have to admit that I was a little peeved (or pissed off) when I started reading The Girl with All the Gifts because I accidentally read a spoiler on Goodreads.  The reviewer didn’t view it that way, but nowhere in the description does it say why Melanie is special, so telling us why she’s special is a freaking spoiler!  I read it anyway because I got it from Netgalley and you kind of have to read and review those suckers within the time they give you.

The plot was so interesting.  I actually liked that the author kept dropping subtle hints about the characters and major plot points without actually telling you anything.  I will admit that it took me about 8 or 9 chapters to really get invested in the book.  Once I got going though, I didn’t want to put the book down.  The author weaved the story through massive twists and turns and it was an awesome ride.  I can’t even think of another book to compare it to because I don’t recall reading one that was like this.

The characters weren’t quite as thrilling as the story itself, which is why it took me so long to get into it.  Melanie was very likable and I found myself rooting for her, even when I probably should not have done so.  Sergeant Parks gradually became more likable as we learned more about him.  Then there’s Miss Justineau.  I think we were supposed to love her as much as Melanie does, but I just did not like her at all.  Even when you started to get a little bit of background on her, it made me dislike her even more.  I do think Dr. Caldwell (the scientist) could’ve had at least one redeeming quality though.  Most people have at least one thing about them that’s likable; she had none.  In the end, I really liked how each character was portrayed and that even through differences they co-existed.

Would I recommend this book?  Heck yeah I would.  I pretty much loved The Girl with All the Gifts, slow start and all.  I was a little sad when it ended because I wanted to read more (not a series worth though).

4.5 out of 5 Bookmarks = I enjoyed it way more than I anticipated, but something stopped me from giving it a perfect rating.

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon or Barnes & Noble

the_girl_with_all_the_gifts

1 Comment

  1. I LOVE this book! I may actually buy it (I work in a library, and never buy books).

    Glad you enjoyed it too!

Leave a Reply

