Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

That Awkward Moment (Rated R)

Starring:  Zac Efron, Michael B. Jordan and Miles Teller

Directed by:  Tom Gormican

Synopsis:  Three best friends find themselves where we’ve all been – at that confusing moment in every dating relationship when you have to decide, “So…where is this going?”

My Thoughts:  What?  I understand awkward.  I live a very awkward existence and was thrilled there was a movie all about That Awkward Moment (even if it was specifically geared toward dating).  I agree that there is definitely an awkward moment when you’re trying to figure out where the relationship is going, but really there are quite a few of those moments.

That Awkward Moment was sold as a comedy in the previews.  If that’s the case, I want my money back.  I don’t remember actually laughing even once.  I may have smiled at a few things and maybe a short chuckle came out, but I don’t actually remember it happening.  I felt like it should be branded a romance.  There were parts that were extremely close to real life and then they put a stupid Hollywood spin on it.

The characters weren’t even that likable.  Zac Efron was basically a d-bag throughout the entire movie.  I was NOT rooting for his character to get the girl in the end.  I wanted her to slap him across the face and tell him to get lost.  Michael B. Jordan was okay, but sooo hung up on his cheating wife that he annoyed me (in his defense I tend to get very annoyed with people when they don’t move on from obviously unhealthy relationships/situations).  That brings us to Miles Teller.  I loved him in Footloose.  Everything else I’ve seen him in since then, I’ve wanted to see his character disappear (I don’t really even need an explanation, just get rid of him).

The plot had more potential than it even came close to reaching.  It should’ve been much funnier than it was.  A lot of the jokes seemed to be crude just for the sake of being crude.  I was unbelievably disappointed in That Awkward Moment and very relieved that I didn’t waste the $10 to see it in theaters.

I would not recommend That Awkward Moment, unless you’re a die-hard Zac Efron fan or you loved Get Him to the Greek and 21 Jumpstreet (Jonah Hill version).

2.25 out of 5 Popcorn Buckets = Unnecessarily crude and just not funny.

Interested in buying this movie?  DVD or Instant Video

that_awkward_moment

Leave a Reply

