Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Golgotha

by Saul Tanpepper

Overview (from Goodreads):  Hoping to avert a human disaster with global implications, a molecular geneticist creates an experimental antidote against a synthetic military virus intended for reanimating the dead. Planning to test it on himself, he must first self-administer the zombie virus and allow the infection to run its full course. The process and the aftermath are captured in a series of voice recordings, leaving their intended audience little doubt about the experiment’s spectacular outcome.

Full Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book from the author during The Hunt for Tomorrow Scavenger Hunt.

My Thoughts: I don’t know if anyone else has ever wondered about a zombie story told from the point of view of the people trying to find a cure.  Part of zombie lore is the unattainable and sometimes fictional cure.  A creepy rendition of this is finally realized in Golgotha.

Golgotha is an interesting concept.  It’s a prequel to the Gameland series and I’ll admit that it did its job by wetting my appetite.  This was the first zombie story I’ve read that takes place from the scientific end of the spectrum (the people trying to make that damn “nonexistent” cure).  I know the whole series isn’t like that, but it was unique enough to pique my interest about what else this author may be offering up.

The characters were interesting.  The main scientist that injects himself with the virus was weirdly likable.  I’m hoping he shows up elsewhere in the series.  The others (the military men) were also a great addition.  The character personalities matched a scientific or militaristic persona (level-headed, focused and logical).  I liked seeing the scientific desperation that ultimately tips you over into insanity (or stupidity, depending on your definition).

So, is it recommendation worthy?  If you’re reading or plan to read the Gameland series, I definitely recommend Golgotha.  If you’re a huge fan of the zombie genre, I would recommend Golgotha.  I enjoyed it and am looking forward to reading the full series.

3 out of 5 Bookmarks = I liked it and will read on to see what happens in the series.

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon or Barnes & Noble

golgotha

Leave a Reply

