Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Humanity

by Samuel Peralta

Overview (from Goodreads):  Night snow, winter, and an extreme wind chill mean ten minutes to a frozen death in open air. Alan Mathison is headed home on an icy highway, on a collision course that will test his humanity.

From award-winning author Samuel Peralta comes Humanity, a provocative short story that asks the question: What is it that makes us human?

Humanity is one of a series of standalone stories about a labyrinthine world where temporal travel is just beginning to be realized, where pervasive surveillance by telepaths is a part of life, where non-human self-awareness has begun to make humanity face difficult questions about itself.

Welcome to the Labyrinth. Welcome to Humanity.

Full Disclosure:  I received a copy of this short story from the author in exchange for an honest review.

My Thoughts:  What it means to be human has always been up for debate and as technology becomes more and more prevalent, the answer seems to change.  In Humanity, Samuel Peralta gives you a glimpse into the world where this question defines each character from the very first page.

The story was fantastic.  It grabs you from page one and doesn’t let go.  I found myself questioning how I would react in a similar situation and the truth is you couldn’t know for sure unless it happens.  I don’t really have to worry about it though because I doubt A.I. (artificial intelligence) will become that advanced within my lifetime.  Humanity stuck with me too.  I found myself still thinking about it days after I’d read it.

It’s very short and takes no time at all to read.  It’s definitely worth reading though.  I felt like it was such a quick look into this world that it could be seen as a short prequel.  I do hope to see more from this world and hopefully in a full length novel (fingers crossed).  I would recommend Humanity, especially to those with a love for short stories and futuristic technology.

3 out of 5 Bookmarks = I liked it and look forward to reading more.

Interested in buying this short story?  Amazon

humanity

 

2 Comments

  1. Thanks so much….I’m glad you liked the story! I’m working on a companion piece to ‘Humanity’ right now, called ‘Handmaid’… and it all links to the arc of a larger piece that I am working on, called ‘Labyrinth Man’. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

