Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Gone Girl (Rated R)

Starring:  Ben Affleck, Rosamund Pike, Neil Patrick Harris, Tyler Perry, Carrie Coon, Kim Dickens, and Patrick Fugit

Directed by:  David Fincher

Synopsis:  On the occasion of his fifth wedding anniversary, Nick Dunne reports that his wife, Amy, has gone missing. Under pressure from the police and a growing media frenzy, Nick’s portrait of a blissful union begins to crumble. Soon his lies, deceits and strange behavior have everyone asking the same dark question: Did Nick Dunne kill his wife?

My Thoughts:  First and foremost I want to be upfront about the fact that I have not read the book.  Honestly, I have no intention of reading the book.  However, I think you can still enjoy a movie without reading the book or vice versa. 

Gone Girl was sick and twisted, but still really good.  I thought Ben Affleck did an incredible job.  He wasn’t a good guy, but he wasn’t a bad guy either.  He played it down the middle perfectly.  It never fails to warm my heart when he does well in a movie.  Rosamund Pike was seriously creepy.  She did a great job scaring the crap out of me (this may affect how I see her in other things from now on).  My favorite character was Margo (Carrie Coon), Nick’s sister.  She was just to blunt and straight to the point.  I loved the family dynamic between brother and sister in Gone Girl; it made me wish my brother and I were closer.

The plot was. . .disturbing.  It’s one of those movies that makes me question how and why someone thought all of this up.  There were plenty of twists to keep you guessing.  I thought I had it figured out about 5 minutes into the movie and then BAM! (Side note:  what I thought I had figured out, I was right about).  I loved the addition of Amy’s parents and their children’s books loosely based on their daughter.  I think it added more to the psychological aspects of the movie.

By the end, I really liked Gone Girl.  It’s been over a week since I watched it and thinking about it still blows my mind.  It does have some nudity, violence and swearing.  In fairness though, it is rated R (there’s a reason for that).  So if you’re not into the elements that make up a rated R movie, skip it.  If you’re okay with those elements and you like a bit of a psychological twist in your movies then I would definitely recommend Gone Girl.

3.5 out of 5 Popcorn Buckets = Ultimately I liked it, but that doesn’t take away from how twisted it is.

Interested in pre-ordering this movie?  DVD or Instant Video

gone_girl

Leave a Reply

