Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Warm Bodies (Rated PG-13)

Starring:  Nicholas Hoult, Teresa Palmer, John Malkovich, Rob Corddry, and Analeigh Tipton

Directed by:  Jonathan Levine

Synopsis:  After a zombie epidemic, R (a zombie) rescues Julie (a human survivor) from a zombie attack. The two form a special relationship in their struggle for survival, R becomes increasingly more human – setting off a chain of events that begins to transform the other zombies and maybe even the whole lifeless world.

My Thoughts:  I’m not a horror movie fan.  In fact I’m a massive chicken when it comes to horror, suspense, thriller movies.  They give me nightmares even when others think that the monsters or people are lame and/or terrible actors.  Zombies are my exception.  I like them scary and even am of the mindset that they should be scary.

Warm Bodies didn’t stick to this.  R wasn’t scary.  He was trying to remember who the heck he was, which made me sympathize with him.  Warm Bodies was also a love story.  Kill me now.  Zombies aren’t supposed to be redeemable or able to fall in love.  I understand vampires and werewolves being sexualized, but part of the draw of zombie lore is the absence of all of that.

The acting was okay.  I’ll admit that a lot of it was over-the-top and less than impressive, but I imagine acting like a zombie that’s trying to be human is not an easy task.  Having said that, I laughed during a few parts that I’m pretty sure were intended to be scary.  The boneys (skeleton zombies) were kind of scary, but obviously CGI.  It’s never a good thing when the CGI is clear as day.  The boneys were the irredeemable zombies that we all know from zombie lore, except that they looked like skeletons.

Is Warm Bodies recommendation worthy?  I liked it, but I keep going back and forth on whether or not I would actually recommend it.  I don’t think it’s the right fit for the hard-core zombie fan.  For example, if you’re obsessed with The Walking Dead then Warm Bodies might seem like a bit of a joke to you.  If you’re just discovering zombies, you might want to try Warm Bodies.  If you’re a big fan of Nicholas Hoult, you may want to check out Warm Bodies as well.  Overall, I think Warm Bodies was good, but not quite worth a recommendation.

3.5 out of 5 Popcorn Buckets = I liked it, but it just wasn’t zombies the way I like to see them.

Side Note:  Warm Bodies is a book!  I might have to check it, but it’ll be pretty low on my TBR list.

Interested in buying this movie?  DVD or Instant Video

warm-bodies

1 Comment

  1. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

Leave a Reply

